Starting with Ogre

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
WhiskeyJim
Gnoblar

Starting with Ogre

Post by WhiskeyJim »

Firstly, hello all! :)

I've been stumbling on these forums for couple of days and I really like the size and spirit of this community. Anyways, I'm that "I-want-to-do-an-MMO" type of person who really knows nothing. But now I've started to realize I'll never finish one if I don't learn how to program.

Languages I tried:
  • * C++
    * C#
    * Java
    * Python
Those are the languages I tried without any real success. I studied the basics of C++ by myself couple of years ago, but I got frustrated with it because I'm not a "super human", unlike many of you guys and girls. I can't remember anything about C++. I'm not too good with mathematics and I could say my overall logic's pretty bad.

Engines I tried:
  • * Irrlicht
    * Truevision3D
    * Ogre through Mogre
I liked Mogre, but I'm a bit scared of using .NET languages since evil people on the GameDev.net forums said it's not the standard in the industry. Also I'm a bit confused with all the DLLs and wrapped libraries (e.g. I couldn't get CEGUI to work). I'd use .NET-language for writing tools though, since I like the design system provided by the Visual Studio.

I can:
  • * Play games
    * Use Photoshop
    * Use Maya
    * Write bad english and stupid posts
I can't:
  • * Program
    * Get chicks
    * Write english and meaningful posts