Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+/DirectX11

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
CodexHound216
Gnoblar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:19 pm
x 2

Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+/DirectX11

Post by CodexHound216 »

When I load in the ogre mesh I get this exception when running Ogre using the OpenGL 3+ Renderer.

RenderSystem does not not support FixedFunction, but technique has no Vertex Shader: Ogre/Tusks

How do I fix this?
Last edited by CodexHound216 on Sun Oct 29, 2017 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
xrgo
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:59 pm
Location: Chile
x 168

Re: Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+

Post by xrgo »

Hello! what version of Ogre are you using?
CodexHound216
Gnoblar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:19 pm
x 2

Re: Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+

Post by CodexHound216 »

Oh Sorry: Ogre MainLatest 1.1.9 Compiled with 64-bit Flags
With CEGUI 0.8.7
xrgo
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1148
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:59 pm
Location: Chile
x 168

Re: Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+

Post by xrgo »

the problem is that you need to use shaders in your materials, or use the Real Time Shader System (RTSS), or the High level Material System (Hlms), which will generate the shaders for you..
But I am not sure about the status of GL3+, or RTSS, or Hlms on Ogre 1.10, but I think it should work...
paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1994
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 1074
Contact:

Re: Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+

Post by paroj »

you are likely following the outdated tutorials on the wiki. Rather use the updated versions here:
https://ogrecave.github.io/ogre/api/1.1 ... Scene.html

with the full code available here: https://github.com/OGRECave/ogre/blob/m ... orial1.cpp
CodexHound216
Gnoblar
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2017 5:19 pm
x 2

Re: Runtime Exception with OpenGL 3+

Post by CodexHound216 »

I am trying to follow the tutorial and auto generate shaders for my materials with RTShader but I am running into these errors.

Custom COUT for debugging:

Code: Select all

Schema not found, generating new shader technique
Material Name: Ogre/Eyes, Schema Name: ShaderGeneratorDefaultScheme
Schema successufully generated
Successful Technique Generation
Schema not found, generating new shader technique
Material Name: Ogre/Skin, Schema Name: ShaderGeneratorDefaultScheme
Schema successufully generated
DefaultWorkQueue('Root') shutting down on thread main.
After this line is where the technique generation crashed with ogre skin

VSDebugger:

Code: Select all

Exception thrown at 0x00007FFC891D9E08 in spacegam1.exe: Microsoft C++ exception: Ogre::D3D11RenderingAPIException at memory location 0x0000007F2A1DB4B0.
Ogre: High-level program 'd62a07841b38ef56b19e71ba09ae9802_FS' is not supported: Cannot compile D3D11 high-level shader d62a07841b38ef56b19e71ba09ae9802_FS Errors:
(34,2-14): error X3000: unrecognized identifier 'SamplerData2D'
(34,16-33): error X3000: unrecognized identifier 'gTextureSampler02D'
Cache d62a07841b38ef56b19e71ba09ae9802_FS:

Code: Select all

//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Program Type: Fragment shader
// Language: hlsl
// Created by Ogre RT Shader Generator. All rights reserved.
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
//                         PROGRAM DEPENDENCIES
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
#include "FFPLib_Common.hlsl"
#include "FFPLib_Texturing.hlsl"

//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
//                         GLOBAL PARAMETERS
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Texture2D	gTextureSampler0 : register(t0);
SamplerState	gTextureSamplerState0 : register(s0);

//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Function Name: main
// Function Desc: Pixel Program Entry point
//-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
void main
	(
	 in float4	oPos_0 : SV_Position, 
	 in float4	iColor_0 : COLOR, 
	 in float2	iTexcoord2_0 : TEXCOORD0, 
	 out float4	oColor_0 : SV_Target
	)
{
	float4	lLocalParam_0;
	float4	texel_0;
	SamplerData2D	gTextureSampler02D;
	float4	source1;
	float4	source2;

	FFP_Construct(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, lLocalParam_0);

	FFP_Assign(iColor_0, oColor_0);

	FFP_Construct_Sampler_Wrapper(gTextureSampler0, gTextureSamplerState0, gTextureSampler02D);

	FFP_SampleTexture(gTextureSampler02D, iTexcoord2_0, texel_0);

	FFP_Assign(texel_0, source1);

	FFP_Assign(iColor_0, source2);

	FFP_Modulate(source1, source2, oColor_0);

	FFP_Add(oColor_0.xyz, lLocalParam_0.xyz, oColor_0.xyz);
}
Is there anything I can do to fix this?
Post Reply