TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[1.2 Blendmasks]

A place to show off your latest screenshots and for people to comment on them. Only start a new thread here if you have some nice images to show off!
User avatar
Kohedlo
Gnome
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:34 pm
Location: Ukraine, Sumy
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby Kohedlo » Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:47 pm

This really cool , but can anybody give me SVN link.I cant find it
0 x
c++ game developer.
current project: Imperial Game Engine 2.5
Image

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby al2950 » Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:32 pm

I have you looked at the first post on the first page!!???

TecnoFreak Animation System

Sourceforge project page


I recently posted about The Teddy Incident game and said I'd create a new one to talk about the animation system.


The direct link to the SVN stuff on the sourceforge page is here;
http://sourceforge.net/projects/tecnofreakanima/develop
0 x

User avatar
Kohedlo
Gnome
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 3:34 pm
Location: Ukraine, Sumy
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby Kohedlo » Wed Dec 02, 2009 1:52 am

Big sorry and thanks
0 x
c++ game developer.
current project: Imperial Game Engine 2.5
Image

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby al2950 » Mon Dec 14, 2009 12:30 pm

Hi

I have only just back to using this, but since i last used it i have upgraded my system to 64 bit vista.

Now when i try and create a new project the 'ok' button is grayed out. I have read a few other people had this problem which was solved by creating a new project on the desktop but this does not work for me;

Anyone got any ideas??

PS. I am an administrator and i have tried the 'Run as adminstrator' thing as well.
0 x

User avatar
novaumas
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:44 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby novaumas » Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:31 pm

Hi al2950,

you can also create a new folder wherever you want with a file named "project.tfproj" that should have the following contents:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<project>
 <model_list />
</project>


And then you can open the project instead of creating a new one.

Hope that helps.
0 x

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby al2950 » Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:04 am

Thanks novaumas. :D

Whilst you are here! Just wondering if you are going to do anymore development with this or are you still hoping someone will take it off your hands!??
0 x

User avatar
novaumas
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:44 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby novaumas » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:40 pm

Glad that did the trick :D

Development is a little bit stagnated, as my programming energy is completely drained when the weekend arrives. Having said that, this last weekend I was toying a little bit with it :D, but didn't get as far as to commit any changes ( I basically was removing the MOgre dependency from the editor, as I was a little bit annoyed by not always having latest Ogre there )

I'm planning to dedicate some time to work on minor stuff during this Christmas holidays ( like the MOgre removal ), but working on major features is not one of the top priorities for the holidays ( it lies somewhere in between gf+family+friends+sofa ). I have some stuff I'd like to implement, but seeing the latest progress rate I think it can take a while until I work on it again seriously.

Anyway, it's really nice to see that there's people still interested in this project!
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby jacmoe » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:02 pm

It's an awesome project! :)
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby al2950 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:16 am

Anyway, it's really nice to see that there's people still interested in this project!


:D .... as jacmoe this is an awesome project. I personally think it should be in ogre addons forums and have a wiki page!
0 x

User avatar
novaumas
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:44 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby novaumas » Fri Dec 25, 2009 4:22 am

Thanks jacmoe and al2950 ^_^

As promised, released a new version that removes the Mogre dependancy for the editor ( 1.1.3645 ). I probably wont be updating the Mogre viewport or the managed wrapper for the library any more.

There are some small details that still need to be ported properly, but just wanted to get a version of this out as soon as possible. If anyone finds any problems with the new version I'll be happy to help out.
0 x

User avatar
nec
Gremlin
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: Rosny Sous Bois, France
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby nec » Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:37 pm

Hi novaumas,

I tried to use tecnofreak and it seems to work :) but i have some little problems.

- the editor doesn't want to reload the runtime diagram after i saved it.
- the random node play the same animation all the time
- the select node index is shifted by -1
- do you planned to add integer parameter to control integer input (ex select node index input)

nice work ;)
0 x

User avatar
Kyle_Katarn
Halfling
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:51 am
Location: Australia

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby Kyle_Katarn » Tue Jan 05, 2010 3:02 pm

Hey novaumas,

Im trying to run your application (tecnofreak_editor_1.1.3645.zip), and I've hit a snag, it's giving me an exception:

Code: Select all

Could not create viewport: An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT:0x8007000B


Then throws up another exception which says basically the same thing:

Code: Select all

An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT:0x8007000B


Am I missing anything? =\
0 x

User avatar
nec
Gremlin
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: Rosny Sous Bois, France
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby nec » Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:35 am

nec wrote:- the editor doesn't want to reload the runtime diagram after i saved it.


I don't know why but it works now, may be i wrong manipulation.
0 x

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby al2950 » Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:05 am

Im trying to run your application (tecnofreak_editor_1.1.3645.zip), and I've hit a snag, it's giving me an exception:

Code: Select all
Could not create viewport: An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT:0x8007000B



Then throws up another exception which says basically the same thing:

Code: Select all
An attempt was made to load a program with an incorrect format. (Exception from HRESULT:0x8007000B



Am I missing anything? =\


I get the same error on Vista but it works fine on XP. What version of windows are you using?? .NET and VISTA seems to be a complete nightmare!!
0 x

User avatar
Kyle_Katarn
Halfling
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:51 am
Location: Australia

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby Kyle_Katarn » Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:37 am

Im running Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. I read the stuff about the command line, but they didnt mention the error I get.
0 x

User avatar
waynhim
Kobold
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:12 pm

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby waynhim » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:33 pm

I'm having a trouble while trying to compile the Animation System Test. At first it crashed at startup from Visual C++, but from the direct .exe execution it started up but then didn't have any rendering subsystems available. I've had the second problem before and so I went and set the Working Directory under Properties. This fixed the crashing at startup problem, but it still doesn't give me any rendering subsystems. What should I do to fix this?
0 x

User avatar
waynhim
Kobold
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:12 pm

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Editor]

Postby waynhim » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:22 am

I finally managed to get the code working, but as I'm experimenting with it trying to get my meshes and animations working I can't figure out where to change the model in the Animation System Test code, I thought it was changed in "trunk\AnimationSystemTest\src" on line 140, but if I change that to

Code: Select all

Entity* ent1 = mSceneMgr->createEntity( "Friki", "invalid.mesh" );
it still loads Friki.mesh and doesn't even try to load invalid.mesh.
0 x

mono2k
Gnoblar
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 8:02 am

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby mono2k » Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:36 am

novaumas, thank you for such a great tool!
However, it failed to load properly my models (null pointer exceptions & etc.), so I've rebuilt the editor from sources (using VS 2008) and it looks like marshaling strings from GetAnimationNameImpl to managed code doesn't work correctly. To fix this problem I've changed your code at TecnoFreak.Ogre.PlatformImplementation line 124 to

Code: Select all

String animationName = Marshal.PtrToStringAnsi( GetAnimationNameImpl( animationIndex ) );


and changed the declaration of GetAnimationNameImpl to

Code: Select all

[DllImport( "TecnoFreakViewportOgre.dll", CharSet = CharSet.Ansi )]
static extern IntPtr GetAnimationNameImpl(Int32 animationIndex);


Any chance to commit this fix?
0 x

User avatar
oddrose
Orc
Posts: 470
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 2:08 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby oddrose » Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:48 am

Original question: Is there some documentation or an example of how to use it in an application?

EDIT: Sorry, I found the SVN repository. My bad.
http://tecnofreakanima.svn.sourceforge. ... ima/trunk/
0 x

User avatar
novaumas
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:44 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby novaumas » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:06 pm

@ Kyle_Katarn: Sorry to hear that... It's probably me that I'm missing something, but I don't have Vista / Win7 / 64 bit system, so I cannot reproduce the problem :(

@nec: It's cool when things magically solve themselves... unless when they're an intermittent bug... in that case it's hell on earth. If you manage to get a repro case let me know :)
On the integer parameter, I did plan it, but being realistic and given how much time I'm dedicating to the project I don't think I'll be adding it anytime soon. It's just light maintainance work what I'm doing/willing to do right now.

@waynhim: AnimationSystemTest is not a good code sample, it's more of a playground for me to test stuff, but that line you're is the only one that loads an entity as far as I know, so the change you mention should load the mesh you tell it to :?. Also, the animation system will not do any mesh loading behind the scenes.

@mono2k: Thanks for the changes! I didn't know that that is the proper ( as in less chance of killing the app ) way of passing strings around... I'll update the code in the repository to follow your suggestion.
Btw, I'm always open to bug fixes and improvements/features that make sense :D

@oddrose: Great that you managed to find it.

I'm very happy people are still using this... it's incredibly nice when I hear about someone using it to do interesting stuff :D
0 x

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby al2950 » Sun Apr 18, 2010 8:27 pm

Hi... again!

I am trying to build the editor from source but i keep running into a problem. Everything builds ok apart from the MOgre stuff but iam assuming that not needed anymore. When i run it i get this error;
Could not create viewport: Unable to load DLL 'TechnoFreakViewportOgre.dll': The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)


When i debug the code it seems its this method/line that causes the Exception (file: PlatformImplementation.cs)

Code: Select all

      public void Init( String windowHandle )
      {
         InitImpl( windowHandle );
      }

That dll has been built and is present in the directory. Any ideas where i might be going wrong. I have never written any C#, but learning!
0 x

User avatar
novaumas
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:44 am
Location: Barcelona
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby novaumas » Sun Apr 18, 2010 8:45 pm

Hi al2950,

You're correct, the MOgre stuff is not needed anymore, although it should still compile and be usable ( but will not be developed any more... )

That dll is generated by the c++ solution so you'll need to build both ( the build configuration is a little bit of a mess I know... ), but if you have that, it also may be that TechnoFreakViewportOgre.dll is failing to load due to some other dll it requires like the Ogre dlls or the animation system dll not being there.

Just to be sure, here are the ones I have in my folder:
AnimationSystem.dll
cg.dll
OgreMain.dll
Plugin_CgProgramManager.dll
Plugin_OcreeSceneManager.dll
RenderSystem_Direct3D9.dll
TecnoFreakCommon.dll
TecnoFreakPlugin.dll
TecnoFreakViewport.dll
TecnoFreakViewportOgre.dll
TFControls.dll
WeifenLuo.blahblah.dll
0 x

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby al2950 » Sun Apr 18, 2010 9:21 pm

Doh!! Just worked it out, was hoping you would not have replied so quickly!!! :oops:

However the reason I am compiling it myself was because sometimes I get this error within the editor when loading a model;

Error: Unable to load model in file
'G:\data\..............\.\.\....\'

Details: External component has thrown an exception


I originally thought this might be something to do with most of my models being exported for Ogre 1.7, but now i dont think that is the problem, any ideas!?
0 x

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1007
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby al2950 » Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Think i have solved my problems, just needed to have a look at the Ogre.log.

Thanks for your help again novaumas
0 x

User avatar
nec
Gremlin
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: Rosny Sous Bois, France
Contact:

Re: TecnoFreak: Blend Tree Animation System[Open Sourced Edi

Postby nec » Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:05 pm

Hello,

Since I have reinstalled my windows xp, i'm unable to launch tecnofreak, it throw the exception

Could not create viewport: unable to instanciate viewport plugin!


(I installed .net framework 2.0)

any idea?

thx
0 x


Return to “Showcase”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests