An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

A place to show off your latest screenshots and for people to comment on them. Only start a new thread here if you have some nice images to show off!
User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:51 pm

Image
Image
Image

The back of the computer:
Image
inside (two 8800 and one 8600):
Image
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

DemiCanadian
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:28 am

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by DemiCanadian » Thu Feb 19, 2009 12:54 pm

rotfl, this is perverted :lol:
But still good to know that's possible
0 x

User avatar
nikki
Old One
Posts: 2730
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 10:08 am
Location: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by nikki » Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:53 pm

Assaf Raman wrote:inside (two 8800 and one 8600):
:shock:
0 x

User avatar
Kencho
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:28 pm
Location: Burgos, Spain
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Kencho » Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:01 pm

Oh noes! Jaiqua is inside The Matrix! :lol:

Very cool rigging :) Is it possible to split the rendered scene across the screens? (like here)
0 x
Image

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:26 pm

Kencho wrote:Oh noes! Jaiqua is inside The Matrix! :lol:

Very cool rigging :) Is it possible to split the rendered scene across the screens? (like here)
Sure you can, I just didn't take the time writing the code that does that in the demo.
Each monitor can show whatever you want - it has its own viewport and such.
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

User avatar
iloseall
Gremlin
Posts: 156
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 3:54 am
Location: Beijing China
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by iloseall » Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:31 pm

The computer has a Power Power!

Assaf Raman :
1000W power supply.
Wow~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Last edited by iloseall on Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Thu Feb 19, 2009 2:34 pm

iloseall wrote:The computer has a Power Power!
1000W power supply.
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by jacmoe » Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:09 pm

Totally excessive! :)
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

User avatar
_tommo_
Gnoll
Posts: 677
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by _tommo_ » Thu Feb 19, 2009 3:59 pm

Now I have to see a game that has "six independent monitors" in the minimum requisites. 8)
0 x
OverMindGames Blog
IndieVault.it: Il nuovo portale italiano su Game Dev & Indie Games

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:07 pm

The only game I found that support more then one adaptor using D3D is microsoft flight simulator.
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

jjp
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 597
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by jjp » Thu Feb 19, 2009 4:48 pm

Definitely something for the truly degenerated gamers :D
0 x
Enough is never enough.

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Nauk » Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:28 pm

Cool stuff :) Reminds me a lot on up to 24 "boxers" (people running and playing up to 24 clients at one time) in good old everquest.
0 x

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19261
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by sinbad » Thu Feb 19, 2009 6:57 pm

Very cool :) I can see your company is going to have to buy some more monitors ;)

I presume the fact that all 6 screens are displaying the same image is just a convenience from the demo, and that you could just as easily attach a different camera to each window, getting unique views on each monitor? Just to stop people accusing you of cheating by using a monitor cable splitter ;)
0 x

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Thu Feb 19, 2009 7:33 pm

Then they will say I am playing a different video on each screen, there is no end to it, I took a screenshot of the back of the computer and this should prove that it was only one computer. I don't really care if they believe me or not. :D
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

lukashoror
Gnoblar
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:49 pm

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by lukashoror » Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:58 pm

Try Rally Tropy by Bugbear. I have seen in TV demonstration with 3 monitors, but i don't know if they do following trick:
http://forum.jowood.com/showthread.php? ... t=monitors
0 x

User avatar
Ruud v A
Gremlin
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Ruud v A » Fri Feb 20, 2009 2:31 pm

Would it be possible to stack them 2 high and 3 in a row and use them as one big monitor?

And what is the resolution?
0 x

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Fri Feb 20, 2009 4:29 pm

Ruud v A wrote:Would it be possible to stack them 2 high and 3 in a row and use them as one big monitor?
And what is the resolution?
You can stack them up however you want and with whatever resolution that adapters\monitors support.
Regarding the code to split the view to different monitors - you can get the base code from this wiki page.
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

User avatar
Ruud v A
Gremlin
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:44 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Ruud v A » Fri Feb 20, 2009 7:39 pm

I meant, what is the resolution of the monitors you have there?
0 x

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:00 pm

Don't remember, sorry. :(
The setup was only for a few minutes because I needed to borrow 2 GPUs and 4 monitors from friends, it was more of test that Nir Hasson patch to the d3d9 render system can support 3 adapters and 6 monitors - this isn't a setup that I have much use to daily .

BTW: Nir did an excellent job and it isn't possible to run 6 monitors in full screen mode without his patch.
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19261
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by sinbad » Fri Feb 20, 2009 10:35 pm

Assaf Raman wrote:BTW: Nir did an excellent job and it isn't possible to run 6 monitors in full screen mode without his patch.
QFT. This isn't an area we've really had time to explore before now so Nir's work is hugely appreciated.
0 x

User avatar
lonewolff
Ogre Magi
Posts: 1185
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 12:58 am
Contact:

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by lonewolff » Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:51 am

Assaf Raman wrote:The only game I found that support more then one adaptor using D3D is microsoft flight simulator.
Neverwinter nights did, I think :?:

I remember seeing screenshots fot triple displays. Although this might have been on a single card like a Parhelia or something.

Anyway, great work! :wink:
0 x
One Of Them - A game I am working on for Windows and Xbox One

scratchyrice
Gnome
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom - England

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by scratchyrice » Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:28 pm

Oblivion does have multi-monitor support.

Scratchy
0 x
Intel I5 750 OC'd to 4.2Ghz per core, Geforce 580GTX 1.5Gb GPU, 280GTX for PhysX, 8Gb DDR 3 ram

User avatar
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3092
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2006 3:58 pm
Location: TLV, Israel

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Assaf Raman » Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:41 pm

scratchyrice wrote:Oblivion does have multi-monitor support.

Scratchy
Thanks for the info, I didn't know that. After I saw your post I found this video that shows Oblivion using 3 monitors.

Now you can create a smiler setup with future OGRE base games.
0 x
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.

Sheen
Halfling
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 9:32 pm
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by Sheen » Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:56 pm

That's my 4-monitor OGRE system. Oh, and it works on a single graphics card :)
Image

And right now I'm waiting for a new computer with three GTX295 inside :twisted:
0 x

scratchyrice
Gnome
Posts: 324
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:14 pm
Location: United Kingdom - England

Re: An OGRE record - 6 monitors using a single computer

Post by scratchyrice » Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:18 pm

And right now I'm waiting for a new computer with three GTX295 inside
Lol :shock: :shock: HOW MUCH DO YOU EARN MAN?

Scratchy.
0 x
Intel I5 750 OC'd to 4.2Ghz per core, Geforce 580GTX 1.5Gb GPU, 280GTX for PhysX, 8Gb DDR 3 ram

Post Reply