[NEWBIE] Terrain properties, logo, distrubuting, ...

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

[NEWBIE] Terrain properties, logo, distrubuting, ...

Post by VeSCeRa » Tue May 31, 2005 12:14 pm

i have compiled the terrain.cpp using my own texturemap and heightmap

the heights are not real,
how can i tune the properties of the heigtmap generation?
what parameters does it take?

how can i move freely in the map? i want to go high and take a look at the ground?

how can i change the lovely ogre logo to my own logo in the mode selection dialog and in the game fps screen?

when distrubuting my aplication what files should i have? in the package and how can i hide them ( i dont want the heightmap or texture or terrain.cfg to be edited )

ps: yes i am a newbie, yes i did try the wiki manual and searching the forum, and i have a comment if u care for newbs, my first impresion is good for the engine and bad for the docs and example code, i think the example code is the most important part and they should be more clear, at least every tutorial can have its own folder in the examples directory, the examples dir is so mixed with plugins cfgs other exmaples media .. ..

ps2:anyway i loved ogre and will use it :) just need to learn simple things first

ps3:if there was an empty project file for beginning it would be cool (for dev-c++ )
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Tue May 31, 2005 12:33 pm

You have some heavy duty questions. :wink:
how can i move freely in the map? i want to go high and take a look at the ground?
That's exactly what the demos do. You don't have to do anything special.
how can i change the lovely ogre logo to my own logo in the mode selection dialog and in the game fps screen?
That's two questions in one: a) You can change the logo in the resource file in the OgrePlatform project. b) Change the texture for the fps overlay.
when distrubuting my aplication what files should i have? in the package and how can i hide them ( i dont want the heightmap or texture or terrain.cfg to be edited )
Well... Search for it, man. This is an advanced topic.

my first impresion is good for the engine and bad for the docs and example code
Yep. You are a newcomer, right?
It's perfectly natural to be baffled when you dive into something new.
Ogre is a complex beast - give yourself a little time. :)

Actually, I find that Ogre is one of the best documented Open-Source engines around.
every tutorial can have its own folder in the examples directory
That's exactly what's going on.
the examples dir is so mixed with plugins cfgs other exmaples media ..
I was confused the first couple of weeks learning Ogre - so many directories??!
When you take a closer look, it is quite logically laid out.

This is Demos, mind you.
They are meant to demonstrate different aspects of the Ogre engine.
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Tue May 31, 2005 12:34 pm

Welcome aboard. :wink:
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Tue May 31, 2005 12:43 pm

thanks for the quick replies, and nice welcome :)

when i said
how can i move freely in the map? i want to go high and take a look at the ground?
i meant that i want to be able to go up in the sky, but in the terrain demo i can only walk over the terrain, i want to fly :)
That's two questions in one: a) You can change the logo in the resource file in the OgrePlatform project. b) Change the texture for the fps overlay.
yes i want to do both, and i looked at the code but could not manage, wnyway i will try more than
Well... Search for it, man. This is an advanced topic.
yes i will do it after the logo :)

and why does the hills and mountains in my terrain change suddenly when i am moving around the map?
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Tue May 31, 2005 12:49 pm

VeSCeRa wrote:in the terrain demo i can only walk over the terrain, i want to fly :)
Ah, you will have to turn off the RaySceneQuery stuff - look in the frameStarted of your framelistener - comment it out (Where the rayquery results are used to set the position of your camera).
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Tue May 31, 2005 1:06 pm

i have done that
now all i can see is a white black screen with 250fps :)
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Tue May 31, 2005 1:57 pm

Try setting the position of the camera like this:

Code: Select all

        // Set a nice viewpoint
        mCamera->setPosition(207,100,28);
        mCamera->setOrientation(Quaternion(-0.3486, 0.0122, 0.9365, 0.0329));
        //mRoot -> showDebugOverlay( true );

        //raySceneQuery = mSceneMgr->createRayQuery(
        //    Ray(mCamera->getPosition(), Vector3::NEGATIVE_UNIT_Y));
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Tue May 31, 2005 2:32 pm

and now i can fly but i want to stop when i collide with the terrain :)

i mean i dont want to go through the terrain :)

and i could not change the logos :)

ps : what about that annoying height change in the terrain ( ex:when moving around a hill becomes a smaller hill suddenly ) can this be becouse of my video settings, drivers?

and for the ones who have patience :) read below others exit :)

and what about adding clouds

adding rain or snow ?

adding a sun ( with sunshine effect on the map? )
0 x

hamilton
Gnoblar
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 1:48 pm

Post by hamilton » Tue May 31, 2005 5:41 pm

I can handle a few of these questions.
VeSCeRa wrote:and now i can fly but i want to stop when i collide with the terrain :)
Intermediate tutorial #2 at http://www.ogre3d.org/wiki/index.php/In ... Tutorial_2 will help you learn how to limit camera travel based on RaySceneQueries
VeSCeRa wrote:ps : what about that annoying height change in the terrain ( ex:when moving around a hill becomes a smaller hill suddenly ) can this be becouse of my video settings, drivers?
I expect you have an ATI card. The ATI drivers have issues with a particular feature of the terrain manager. Go into terrain.cfg and set VertexProgramMorph=no. This will disable the terrain level of detail morph (which looks nice on nVidia drivers) but the "popping" terrain will no longer occur.
VeSCeRa wrote:and what about adding clouds

adding rain or snow ?
A guide to implimenting a sky is located at http://www.ogre3d.org/wiki/index.php/Basic_Tutorial_3. Adding rain and snow can be accomplished by adding particle systems to your scene. There is a particle demo which is very easy to follow. Just add in the appropriate particle system in Example.particle, and add it into your scene.
0 x

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:33 pm

i have added this example code from tutorial
mSceneMgr->setSkyDome( true, "Examples/CloudySky", 5, 8 );
into the createscene of terrain_Demo

but i cant see the sky?

why?

ps: i have added it after the fog and before setworldgeometry
0 x

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:19 pm

ok i have found it
mSceneMgr->setFog( FOG_LINEAR, fadeColour, .001, 500, 5000);
mSceneMgr->setSkyDome(true, "Examples/CloudySky", 5, 8, 5000, true );
becouse they r both at 5000 away from camera so the fog blocks the sky :)

so i made the sky 3000 then it is ok :)


ps: yeah nice newbie steps :)
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:50 pm

Nice find! :)
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:59 pm

ok and second for the newbies like me :)

to remove or change the ogre logo u should open OgreSDK\media\packs\ogrecore.zip
the logo file is ogretext.png
u can leave the name ogretext.png and edit it
or
u can make your own logo with your own name and u should edit ogrecore.material file and change "material Core/OgreText" to your needs
or
u can create a new material in ogrecore.material and u can edit the ogredebugpanel.overlay file and u can edit the logo element to your needs :)

or to remove the logo you can remove the logo element from ogredebugpanel.overlay file

ps: yeah i wish someone told this to me :), and i guess everything i wrote is true :)

ps2: i still could not find how to change the logo in the config dialog
You can change the logo in the resource file in the OgrePlatform project.
does it mean downloading the sources of ogre and changing the res and then compiling it?
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:15 pm

VeSCeRa wrote:does it mean downloading the sources of ogre and changing the res and then compiling it?
Exactly! :)

Only the OgrePlatform project, mind you.
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:17 pm

dude, if u said it before u would save lots of hair from my head :)

ok i will try it and i know compiling the sources will be a pain in the ass :)
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:18 pm

That pain in the ass will teach you a lot! :P
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

VeSCeRa
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:46 am
Location: Istanbul / TURKEY

Post by VeSCeRa » Wed Jun 01, 2005 10:59 pm

when compiling ogre
Cannot open include file: 'dxerr8.h': No such file or directory
this means i should download directx sdk?

damn : it is 155mb

ps: i have found a quickfix for this, opening the dll file with a resource editor and replacing the logo?, as i am downloading the directx sdk ( and reading problems about the latest directx sdk and c++ ) is it illegal to change it this way ?
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Wed Jun 01, 2005 11:16 pm

Yep, you will need the DirectX SDK.

Nope, it is not illegal to resource-hack the OgrePlatform.dll - take a copy of it first!! (In case you screw up).
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

Post Reply