Building a room

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
lucasite
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Building a room

Post by lucasite » Tue May 31, 2005 2:45 pm

Hi,

how exactly would one go about building a room. I mean, like walls, ceiling, floor, doors. For example, the DEMO_BSP sample is situated inside a room.
Im not asking for specific code, more just a direction I can go in.

Is it just a case of sticking rectangles together in Blender, then exporting?
In this case, I suppose its fine for one room, but for 20 or 30, in a game level.Is there another preferred method?

Or are there any other tutorials or examples laying around?
0 x

sgrgc
Greenskin
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 1:42 pm

Post by sgrgc » Tue May 31, 2005 2:54 pm

a map editor like quark or gtkradiant may be useful
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Building a room

Post by jacmoe » Tue May 31, 2005 3:30 pm

lucasite wrote:Is it just a case of sticking rectangles together in Blender, then exporting?
Pretty much. :wink:
lucasite wrote:In this case, I suppose its fine for one room, but for 20 or 30, in a game level.Is there another preferred method?
If you make your rooms separate meshes.
Or - you could use the dotsceneoctree with one big mesh (it basically chops it up for you).

See the wiki.
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

lucasite
Gnoblar
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 12:16 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Building a room

Post by lucasite » Tue May 31, 2005 3:37 pm

jacmoe wrote:
lucasite wrote:Is it just a case of sticking rectangles together in Blender, then exporting?
Pretty much. :wink:
lucasite wrote:In this case, I suppose its fine for one room, but for 20 or 30, in a game level.Is there another preferred method?
If you make your rooms separate meshes.
Or - you could use the dotsceneoctree with one big mesh (it basically chops it up for you).

See the wiki.
Have you got the URL Jacmoe?
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Tue May 31, 2005 3:42 pm

It's part of the Community Add-on Projects :wink:
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

Post Reply