Just another thanks for OGRE and some ideas&questions

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
progmars
Halfling

Just another thanks for OGRE and some ideas&questions

Post by progmars »

I am a university student. Using C++ already 4 years. A year ago I became curious - how do these 3D things work? So I got DirectX SDK and tried to make use of it. It was really hard. SDK samples are so complex with calls to many specific functions and messed up with frameworks and MFC stuff.. So I tried to make my own objects to simplify device initialisation, D3DMesh operations, rendering, animations, matrixes and so on. It was hard for a beginner but I succeeded step by step. And one day I found out in my country's 3D gaming development forum that " OGRE is good" . So I searched google for OGRE and here I am. As I do not have Internet connection atr home I downloaded everything that seemed to be useful: SDK, Manuals, tutorials and I study them at home. Just 3 days ago installed OGRE SDK and it is running OK with VC.NET. The only thing was that I wanted to pretend smart and put OGRE dlls and cfgs in my projects Debug and Release folders and left default settings for Working directory. So Release worked fine but Debug asked for ogremain.dll. I was surprised, I thought it should ask for ogremain_d.dll because I specified Debug options for linker and dependencies to OgreMain_d.lib. So I looked carefully through tutorials and finally found a place where it says that Working directory should be set to Debug (Release) in OGRE SDK install directory. Now everything works fine but I still do not like the idea that my 3D project is located in MyDocuments but project's OGRE config files and media sources are in OGRE SDK directory. It is OK while I have just one project but when I ll have more I'll have to experiment with copying those OGRE SDK files to multiple locations to have multiple configs. Maybe someone has a