couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ubuntu

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ubuntu

Post by gauravmanur »

Hai hello....
compilation is successful but when i try to run/debugging it in kdevelop 4 its showing these kinds of errors :-

Code: Select all

  Loading library /usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager
An exception has occured : OGRE EXCEPTION(7:InternalErrorException): Could not load dynamic library /usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager.so: cannot open shared object file:No such file or Directory in DynLib:: load at /home/bharathsn/Desktop/ogre_src_v1-7-2/OgreMain/src/OgreDynLib.cpp (line 91)
*** Exited normally *** 
how to fix this problem ...
i tried so much but no sight of getting it.... :?

PLEASE HELP...
User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4302
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
x 131
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by spacegaier »

Well the problem is that the file "Plugin_CgProgramManager.so" cannot be found for some reason. Did you search for it in your file system and tried to copy it there?
Ogre Admin [Admin, Dev, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your spare time? Help the Ogre wiki grow! Or squash a bug...
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by gauravmanur »

i did exactly but another kind of error....

Code: Select all

Loading library /usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager
*** Program received signal SIGSEGV (Segmentation fault) ***
its a chain of ERRORS ...
wt can i do next ?????????? :?

one more thing i just got that Plugin_CgProgramManager.so file from the site http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/searc ... r.so.debug as rpm
i just converted that to deb and installed ,but the same error happened....
let it be :(
in that rpm file , viewed through achieve manager, just extracted and pasted to the particular location. When extract is done i got that file as Plugin_CgProgramManager.so.debug i renamed it to Plugin_CgProgramManager.so and pasted...... Is this the wrong way i chosen...??

what kind of error is this " *** Program received signal SIGSEGV (Segmentation fault) *** " .....??? and how to get rid of this ??? PLEASE HELP...... :|
User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4302
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
x 131
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by spacegaier »

Okay, since I am on only on Windows, I can't really say, but at least for Win there are always two DLLs, one for debug and one for release, so our renaming method could cause problems.

Additionally, do not load the DLLS/SOs from such third party sites, but instead get them via the official Ogre download way.

And the SO version you downloaded is for OGre 1.4.7 I assume so that will never work ;) .

Were you able to run the Ogre Samples? Is this the first error in the Ogre.log you posted here?
Ogre Admin [Admin, Dev, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your spare time? Help the Ogre wiki grow! Or squash a bug...
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by gauravmanur »

NO .... the way i'm going according to the "setting up the application in kdevelop" in this site...

i'm not able to run the samples , these are the errors i'm getting while doing that ...

PLEASE can u be more explicit .....

how to correct this problem of SIGSEGV segmentation fault ??
can u explain what this problem related to ?

PLEASE i'm waiting...
CABAListic
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:48 pm
x 58
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by CABAListic »

You need to provide more details. Are you trying to compile Ogre from sources? If so, did you install the Nvidia Cg libraries? Otherwise the Cg plugin won't be built.

Also, do not try to get the file from some internet archive, that just won't work.
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by gauravmanur »

Yes... i installed Nvidia Cg libraries ....
every thing i followed from this site only...

Compilation is successfully over while running/debugging it im getting this error!!

Is the problem with "Plugin_CgProgramManager.so" file or SIGSEGV (Segmentation fault)....??
PLEASE let me able to solve this ridiculous problem....

PLEASE HELP..
CABAListic
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:48 pm
x 58
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by CABAListic »

Please describe in detail every step you have taken, otherwise I really can't help you.
LBDude
Gnome
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:53 pm
x 22

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by LBDude »

Did you download the SDK or the source? Maybe you went straight to setting up KDevelop without downloading the source first?

Anyway, I was able to download, compile, and build Ogre source (on Ubuntu 10.04, and 10.10) by following the wiki page on building from source:

http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Building+Ogre

Make sure you download the source before reading that page.

Once you have it build, you can proceed to make your own application which link to it.
My blog here.
Game twitter here
User avatar
cosme
Halfling
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:51 pm
x 4

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by cosme »

gauravmanur wrote:

Code: Select all

  Loading library /usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager
An exception has occured : OGRE EXCEPTION(7:InternalErrorException): Could not load dynamic library /usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager.so: cannot open shared object file:No such file or Directory in DynLib:: load at /home/bharathsn/Desktop/ogre_src_v1-7-2/OgreMain/src/OgreDynLib.cpp (line 91)
*** Exited normally *** 
LBDude wrote:Did you download the SDK or the source?
Ubuntu SDK use /usr as prefix and Source compile (by default) use /usr/local.

gauravmanur, it seems that you don't have Cg plugin... so maybe you should try to disable it in the plugins.cfg file

http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Basic+Tu ... tion_Files
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by gauravmanur »

i'm really trying it ....

if u dont mind.... can u give ur email id so that i can send u the detailed snap shots of the error ....

IF U DONT MIND ... PLEASE ..
CABAListic
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:48 pm
x 58
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by CABAListic »

No, you really need to provide more info. Forget about KDevelop for the moment, first you need to build Ogre itself. Please tell us how you did that, and can you run the SampleBrowser?
McSwan
Greenskin
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 5:40 am
x 1

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by McSwan »

I have the same issue.

/usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager.so does not exist in that folder.

I assume Ogre was meant to make that file. Don't know why it didn't.

I was able to compile and run the Ogre examples, however I think the cg component was missing from the samples.

Just commenting out the # Plugin=Plugin_CgProgramManager didn't seem to be enough.

I got it working!
My old bad working plugins.cfg looked like this

Code: Select all

# Defines plugins to load

# Define plugin folder
PluginFolder=/usr/local/lib/OGRE

# Define plugins
# Plugin=RenderSystem_Direct3D9
# Plugin=RenderSystem_Direct3D10
# Plugin=RenderSystem_Direct3D11
 Plugin=RenderSystem_GL
# Plugin=RenderSystem_GLES
 Plugin=Plugin_ParticleFX
 Plugin=Plugin_BSPSceneManager
 Plugin=Plugin_CgProgramManager
 Plugin=Plugin_PCZSceneManager
 Plugin=Plugin_OctreeZone
 Plugin=Plugin_OctreeSceneManager
The one I got working looked like this

Code: Select all

# Defines plugins to load

# Define plugin folder
PluginFolder=/home/michael/Ogre/ogre_src_v1-7-2/build/lib

# Define plugins
# Plugin=RenderSystem_Direct3D9
# Plugin=RenderSystem_Direct3D10
# Plugin=RenderSystem_Direct3D11
 Plugin=RenderSystem_GL
# Plugin=RenderSystem_GLES
 Plugin=Plugin_ParticleFX
 Plugin=Plugin_BSPSceneManager
# Plugin=Plugin_CgProgramManager
 Plugin=Plugin_PCZSceneManager
 Plugin=Plugin_OctreeZone
 Plugin=Plugin_OctreeSceneManager
Note that the PluginFolder=/home/michael/Ogre/ogre_src_v1-7-2/build/lib is different. (it's where I installed Ogre)
and the # Plugin=Plugin_CgProgramManager is commented out.
I actually copied the plugins.cfg from /home/michael/Ogre/ogre_src_v1-7-2/build/bin into my app bin folder.

I guess I'll have to figure out why the cg thing didn't compile. I might leave though because my project doesn't need to be visually orgasmic.
User avatar
cosme
Halfling
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:51 pm
x 4

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by cosme »

McSwan wrote:I have the same issue.

/usr/local/lib/OGRE/Plugin_CgProgramManager.so does not exist in that folder.

I assume Ogre was meant to make that file. Don't know why it didn't.

I was able to compile and run the Ogre examples, however I think the cg component was missing from the samples.

[...]

I guess I'll have to figure out why the cg thing didn't compile. I might leave though because my project doesn't need to be visually orgasmic.
OGRE needs Nvidia Cg Toolkit to build CgProgramManager plugin.

You can download from here: http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cg_archive.html
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by gauravmanur »

OK....
1st i had installed cmake through this command - sudo apt-get install cmake
then downloaded the ogre source 1.7.2 ver given in this link http://www.ogre3d.org/download/source for linux
then i installed ogre using these command

Code: Select all

tar xjf ogre_src_v1-7-2.tar.bz2
cd ogre_src_v1-7-2
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make -j2
sudo make install
Next i'd installed libogre-dev through this command and i'd installed these commands :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install build-essential automake libtool
sudo apt-get install libfreetype6-dev libfreeimage-dev libzzip-dev libxrandr-dev libxaw7-dev freeglut3-dev
sudo apt-get install nvidia-cg-toolkit libois-dev libboost-thread-dev
sudo apt-get install doxygen graphviz libcppunit-dev 
Do i need to install cmake-gui or is there any stuff missing??
i have also followed the kdevelop installation procedure provided in the link - http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Setting+ ... op+-+Linux
Pls do help......
CABAListic
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 2903
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 2:48 pm
x 58
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by CABAListic »

Wait, so you installed the nvidia cg toolkit after you built Ogre? No wonder the Cg plugin wasn't built...
You need to rebuild Ogre.
gauravmanur
Gnoblar
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 4:42 pm

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by gauravmanur »

I finally got that ..!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :mrgreen:

CABAListic....

THANK U VERY MUCH MAN HATS OFF ......

overwhelming no words to define.!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll be back again with coding doubts ....

really thank u man !!!!!!

and also thank for cosme for providing this link http://developer.nvidia.com/object/cg_archive.html
bertoz
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:38 am
x 1

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by bertoz »

Hi!
I have the same problem you got; i just installed cg toolkit.
I see that i have to recompile my Ogre distribution now; since i'm a totally noob i want to ask you how to compile ( i have a pre-build SDK version of Ogre ). Do i only need to open the Ogre solution by VS and then compile in Debug and/or in Release version? Or i need CMake and else?

thank you
User avatar
scottstensland
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:01 pm
x 1

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by scottstensland »

The original post says issue happens on ubuntu
I also use ubuntu and had this same issue today.
The nvidia Cg 3.0 source download is actually compiled libs and examples + doc
Just install ubuntu package : nvidia-cg-toolkit

sudo apt-get install nvidia-cg-toolkit

which works nicely. Then, as suggested, recompile your ogre source tree
Let us know how you get on ...

cheers Scott Stensland
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Re: couldn't load Plugin_CgProgramManager.so is missin in ub

Post by jacmoe »

bertoz wrote:Hi!
I see that i have to recompile my Ogre distribution now; since i'm a totally noob i want to ask you how to compile ( i have a pre-build SDK version of Ogre ). Do i only need to open the Ogre solution by VS and then compile in Debug and/or in Release version? Or i need CMake and else?
Actually, you don't have to do that as CG is included.

However, if you want to update the CG plugin used by Ogre, you need to compile Ogre.
And then you need to get the dependencies and the source and CMake.
And, before you compile the dependencies, you need to update the CG dependency source with the new CG version you just downloaded and installed.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
Post Reply