.mesh Import question

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
dmlarsen30
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:06 pm

.mesh Import question

Post by dmlarsen30 » Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:12 pm

Hi,

I'm a 3D animator and back in 2007 I did project for a client in which I exported my models from Maya to Ogre .mesh format. My client contacted me last week asking for a change to the project. Unfortunately, my original Maya files are either lost or unreadable. My client can provide me with the .mesh files. Can I use Blender or some other tool to convert the .mesh files into a format that Maya can read?

Thanks
0 x

User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4291
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
x 2
Contact:

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by spacegaier » Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:23 pm

AFAIK, the exporters cannot work with .MESH files since they are binary and non reversible. They can open .MESH.XML files which most exporters output when generating the .MESH file.
0 x
Ogre Admin [Admin, Dev, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your spare time? Help the Ogre wiki grow! Or squash a bug...

dmlarsen30
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by dmlarsen30 » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:28 pm

So there's no way for me to convert a .mesh file into another 3D format like .obj?
0 x

User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4291
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
x 2
Contact:

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by spacegaier » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:47 pm

Ah...wait: I forgot something. The latest version of the OgreXMLConverter can convert a .MESH file back to a .MESH.XML file that can then be imported in some modeling tools via an Ogre Importer, e.g. Blender (not sure if there is an Ogre <-> Maya importer).

You could then try: Import into Blender, export from there as .OBJ (or something else), import into Maya.

More info here: http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/OGRE+Exporters
0 x
Ogre Admin [Admin, Dev, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your spare time? Help the Ogre wiki grow! Or squash a bug...

dmlarsen30
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by dmlarsen30 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:12 pm

Thanks very much for your help! It took me a while to:

-Get the correct version of Blender
-Get the correct version of Python
-Find the Import Ogre python script
-Put the Import Ogre python script in the right folder

LOL. But, I fumbled my way through it and now I have the data I need.

Thanks again!
0 x

dmlarsen30
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by dmlarsen30 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:36 pm

I thought I would post a follow-up to this thread describing for posterity what I did on the chance someone else has the same problem.

I needed to get an object, let's call it object.mesh into Maya where I could work with it. Here's what I did:

1. Download the OgreCommandLineTools and use OgreXMLConverter to convert object.mesh into object.mesh.xml
2. Download and install Blender version 2.49b (Use this specific version)
3. Download ogre_import.py and put it in the Blender scripts folder (see 3b below)
3b. Optionally download the Ogre Exporter and put it in the Blender scripts folder. Scroll down and read the comments for information on where to locate the Blender scripts folder.
4. Download and install Python version 2.6.4

You should now be able to import the object.mesh.xml object you created earlier into Blender and export it to the format of your choice.
0 x

chrisGopher11
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by chrisGopher11 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:54 pm

Hey dmlarsen,

I followed your steps exactly but couldn't get it to work properly. I get an error in Blender saying: Python error check console.

Any ideas?
0 x

User avatar
Mind Calamity
Ogre Magi
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Macedonia

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by Mind Calamity » Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:05 pm

chrisGopher11 wrote:Hey dmlarsen,

I followed your steps exactly but couldn't get it to work properly. I get an error in Blender saying: Python error check console.

Any ideas?
Highly possible that you have the wrong Python version installed. I believe the instructions given above are for Blender 2.4x which uses Python 2.6x, which is way different from Python 3.x.
0 x
BitBucket username changed to iboshkov (from MindCalamity)
Do you need help? What have you tried?
- xavier
---------------------
HkOgre - a Havok Integration for OGRE | Simple SSAO | My Blog | My YouTube | My DeviantArt

chrisGopher11
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by chrisGopher11 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 3:21 pm

Hey

Actually I just followed the link to download Python here: http://www.python.org/getit/releases/2.6.4/
So I'm assuming that's the correct version.

Thanks
0 x

chrisGopher11
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 5:15 pm

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by chrisGopher11 » Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:32 pm

Hey Mind Calamity I followed his steps exactly. I got the Python version from here: http://www.python.org/getit/releases/2.6.4/
So if you have any other suggestions that might help, let me know.
0 x

User avatar
Jabberwocky
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 2819
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 11:17 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by Jabberwocky » Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:46 am

You might find more help with that blender error over at the blender forums.
I also got quite a few hits by typing "Python error check console blender" in google.
0 x
Image

Slava39
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:58 am
Location: Russia, but soul I in Ukraine

Re: .mesh Import question

Post by Slava39 » Mon Oct 08, 2012 6:39 pm

chrisGopher11 wrote:Hey Mind Calamity I followed his steps exactly. I got the Python version from here: http://www.python.org/getit/releases/2.6.4/
So if you have any other suggestions that might help, let me know.

I had the same thing, but I installed Python version 2.6.6 and now everything works without problems.
0 x

Post Reply