Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
Sirow
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:52 pm

Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by Sirow » Thu Sep 25, 2014 11:57 am

I did a quick forum search, but could not find any related Information, so here I go.
(Sorry if this might have allready been said)

Prebuild Ogre3D 32 & 64 bit binaries build with Mingw-w64 and pretty much all dependencies and on current versions can be found in the msys2 repository.
Extra bonus: pacman package manager for easy library installation and dependency resolution! :)

Project side: https://sourceforge.net/projects/msys2/
Install guide: https://sourceforge.net/p/msys2/wiki/MS ... tallation/

PS: I'm not involved in any kind with this project, just stumpbled upon it after trying to build the latest freeimage on mingw/msys1.1, freeimage on https://bitbucket.org/cabalistic/ogredeps is slightly behind in version.
0 x

frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 14

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by frostbyte » Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:51 pm

great to know about, thanks...pacman for windows- how awsome... :)
0 x
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos

dlccmind
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by dlccmind » Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:33 pm

Do anyone know how I get this binary into my computer? I'm noob at msys2 but have managed to successfully install and compile Allegro 5 on it at least.

I intend to use:
Code::blocks
msys2 (mingw64)
a recent version of Ogre3D (1.9 ish?)

I found mingw-w64-ogre at https://github.com/Alexpux/MINGW-packages, is that related to this? Or is it actually just the source?

I just want to start USING Ogre3D as fast and easy as possible without spending months trying to get it working (like last time I tried and failed), and I don't really want to use Visual studio, hence msys2.
Is this binary one the way to go is using msys2?
Can't seem to find it with pacman anyway.
0 x

frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 14

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by frostbyte » Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:26 pm

I just want to start USING Ogre3D as fast and easy as possible without spending months trying to get it working (like last time I tried and failed), and I don't really want to use Visual studio, hence msys2.
self contradicting...
I found mingw-w64-ogre at https://github.com/Alexpux/MINGW-packages, is that related to this? Or is it actually just the source?
it says so at the buttom of the page..."Package scripts for MinGW-w64 targets to build under MSYS2."
so it's not binaries just automatic download source, build with mingw and install to pacman...
Is this binary one the way to go is using msys2?
Can't seem to find it with pacman anyway.
never tried it...i used to build it my self - all was smooth sailing and i never had a problem...sorry if that did'nt work out for you...i guess i got lucky...

btw: latest ogre is 1.10 from the default branch( and don't worry... 1.10 "unstable" is more stable than 1.9 )
tip for building ogre: don't forget to enable unity-build in cmake gui, it will save you about 20 minutes of compile time
Last edited by frostbyte on Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos

frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 14

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by frostbyte » Sun Jan 25, 2015 7:53 pm

ok found it for you http://sourceforge.net/projects/msys2/f ... GW/x86_64/ ( search for ogre keyword try the latest... )
but i think you better use the package manger( thats the whole point of it...automatically downloading dependencies and stuff.... )
0 x
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7147
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 16

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by Kojack » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:19 pm

Ogre 1.9 branch has a bug that stops mingw builds, it's fixed in the default (1.10) branch.
I built Ogre with mingw/msys the other day (someone on the irrlicht forum was saying that ogre can't be built with it without tons of hacks).
All I needed to do was:
- clone ogre source repo
- clone ogre dependency repo into Dependencies directory
- run cmake and select mingw
- call mingw's make from an msys terminal
0 x

dlccmind
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by dlccmind » Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:27 pm

Thank you very much for your input, I will give it a try!
0 x

dlccmind
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by dlccmind » Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:24 pm

Trying to clone it from msys2 console:

$ git clone https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre/
Klonar till "ogre"...
fatal: repository 'https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre/' not found

Same with $ git clone https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre

Reading all over the place at the moment to find a solution.
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by jacmoe » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:44 am

Mercurial, not git. :)

Install mercurial and run hg clone ..
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

dlccmind
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by dlccmind » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:59 am

Doh, of course ^_^
0 x

dlccmind
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by dlccmind » Mon Jan 26, 2015 2:12 am

Ok, current progress.

Ogre is cloned to my msys2 directory in the Home folder
The Dependancies is cloned to the dependancies folder.

So the structure is now:

msys/msys64/home/Mind/Ogre
msys/msys64/home/Mind/Ogre/Dependencies/ogredeps
Kojack wrote:All I needed to do was:
- clone ogre source repo
- clone ogre dependency repo into Dependencies directory
- run cmake and select mingw
- call mingw's make from an msys terminal
I am assuming Cmake gui here since you said select mingw and since you specified mingws make from the msys terminal the second time. However, this automatically selects the 32-bit mingw from code::blocks directory and starts working with that. When I try to specify the 64-bit compiler in the msys/msys64/mingw64/bin folder it complains about a dll and refuses to work. (cc1.exe missing libgmp-10.dll). The 64-bit mingw is confirmed working and correctly installed with msys2, can compile other code fine with it while using code::blocks.

Experimenting around a bit with this at the moment.
0 x

frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 14

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by frostbyte » Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:57 am

msys/msys64/home/Mind/Ogre/Dependencies/ogredeps
in case youv'e already build the dependencies separately: path should be .../Ogre/Dependencies( dependencies libs after build )
if you want to build dependencies together with ogre : path should be .../Ogre/ogredeps( dependencies source )

you can place ogre dir anywhere you like, there is no need to build under msys path( msys/msys64/home/Mind... )f this
if you want cmake to use ming64 just make sure that in windows path it appears first( move it to the beggining of the path... )
if this doesn't work search google for " cmake use mingw64"

it is advisable to use only one mingw version -the one you are going to use in your app
so you better either switch code-blocks to use that version( don't know how... ) or build against code-blocks mingw-tdm
or better yet, use eclipse-cdt...

in cmake gui use "msys make file" target
enable "unity builds" - this should accelerate your compilation...
hit configure - twice, resolve any path related problems, hit generate
open msys prompt - navigate to the build dir and type make...make install...
good luck
0 x
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos

dlccmind
Gnoblar
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by dlccmind » Mon Jan 26, 2015 5:58 pm

Thanks for the info, regarding mingw version, code::blocks use the 64-bit compiler as default, the one in the msys directory. I have tested it as well on 64-bit allegro projects so that part is working, however, I also can't seem to find any reference to the 32-bit directory in path variables which is strange, cmake-gui shouldn't use the 32-bit one as default, don't know why it even finds it. I don't want to remove the 32-bit version of mingw because I want to make 32-bit releases with it as well later. But maybe I should forget about that for the time being and worry about that later. I'll mess around for a while and see what I come up with, thanks again :). Your info cleared up some misconceptions I had about cmake-gui.
0 x

frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 14

Re: Ogre3D 1.9 Binaries (MinGW-w64 / 32 & 64 bit)

Post by frostbyte » Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:36 pm

i have many versions of mingw( on the same dir )...but only one active on the windows path variable...
whenever i want to use other mingw version, i just rename the mingw dir (one i want to use) to the "active" dir( one in the path )...quick and dirty...
0 x
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos

Post Reply