Re-using the Ogre logo

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
Post Reply
PaulJan
Gnoblar
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:19 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re-using the Ogre logo

Post by PaulJan » Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:29 am

Hi,

I am working on a Ogre .mesh (and .xml) exporter for DeleD (3D modeler, see http://www.delgine.com). I am not using Ogre itself for this functionality as I program in Delphi, but still I would like to splatter the ogre logo somewhere on the plugin window (to propagate the 'ogre spirit'). I have seen the nice little 'powered by ogre' linkbuttons by Temas from the other thread, but I'd rather just put the fullsize ogrelogo.png through my photoshop application to get it at the exact size I like.

Now my question is: am I allowed to do so? I apologize if this is a RTFM (or RTF license or whatever) question, feel free to tell me so if it is!

Thanks, and have a good easter!
0 x

User avatar
Xinc
Halfling
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by Xinc » Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:13 pm

Wow, that looks like an amazing utility (DeleD), I used to Mod for Quake/Quake2 and just love editors with that kind of interface. Having an Ogre exporter for that would be awesome! As for the logo; I can't speak on the team's behalf and I might be wrong in what I'm about to say but logically I would think that as long as your not editing the contents of the logo, but just altering it's Dimensions there shouldn't be any problems.
0 x
- Xinc

PaulJan
Gnoblar
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:19 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by PaulJan » Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:41 pm

Thanks for the compliments :)

Actually, I lowered the contrast as well (wanted to use it as a background for my form), so I really have modified the contents in a visible way (not only in the 'legal' sense).

Assuming that LGPL covers all sample media as well, think I am pretty much safe legally if I mention (in the readme with the plugin, for example) the source of the logo (+ describe what I did to it + offer people the possibility to have the modified logo e-mailed to them if they really really want it *lol*). But all the legal blab aside, I'd rather just know wether the Ogre teams approves of this use or not. If not, I'll just leave it out.
0 x

User avatar
Kencho
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 4011
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:28 pm
Location: Burgos, Spain
x 1
Contact:

Post by Kencho » Fri Mar 25, 2005 2:48 pm

I think that as long as your edited logo still says "OGRE" and people understand it's the OGRE rendering engine, you can use it freely, or even do one yourself. But just talking by myself; I don't know if the team will be agree with me :?
0 x

User avatar
:wumpus:
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 3067
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 12:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by :wumpus: » Fri Mar 25, 2005 3:43 pm

Of course you can use our logo in anything that exports to Ogre or uses Ogre :-)
0 x

PaulJan
Gnoblar
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:19 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by PaulJan » Fri Mar 25, 2005 4:02 pm

Ah sweet! Thanks for the reply!

Back to debugging (exported .mesh doesn't show up unless I convert to and from xml using the xmlconverter... I'll figure it out :wink: )
0 x

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19261
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contact:

Post by sinbad » Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:41 pm

It's probably that you didn't set the bounds on the mesh before exporting. :)
0 x

PaulJan
Gnoblar
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:19 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by PaulJan » Fri Mar 25, 2005 8:20 pm

Ah, good tip, that was nr 3 on my list of things to look at. I'll make it number one :D
0 x

Post Reply