Advice sought - porting game engine to 64 bit.

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
chaosavy
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor

Advice sought - porting game engine to 64 bit.

Post by chaosavy »

Hey guys - I'm the dev behind Void Destroyer 1 and 2.

Link to VD2 -

It's been a amazing ride with game dev, and I couldn't have gotten here without Ogre and it's community. The reason I was able to get so far was there were amazing free and open source sources I could use to help me make a game. Without this I'd probably give up and Void Destroyer 1/2 wouldn't exist. To make a long story short - I'm very weak on the behind the scenes elements as I'm self taught and my goal has always been to make games versus to learn how to make games (if that makes sense - learning came with it, but it wasn't the primary goal). When I started - I went from very basic knowledge of programming to making a game, and only really learning what I needed to know as I hit my next obstacle.

So here I am years later with a outdated 32 bit game engine and components.

Anyway - since releasing Void Destroyer 2 - my goal for future projects is to get the game engine to 64 bit. I've ran into some issues which I believe to be due to running out of memory. In addition I want to take advantage of newer versions of Ogre for speed and improvements (though this is a secondary goal).

So I'm looking for advice -

I'm currently using -

Ogre 1.9
CEGUI 0.7.9
Bullet Physics 2.82 (using btOgre)
Open AL 1.1 (using OgreOggSound)
Particle Universe 1.6 (I think this might be a big issue...)

With my primary goal of getting to 64 bit - can you offer me some advice?

With my secondary goal of getting to newer versions - can you offer me some advice?

thanks

Paul
Visit http://www.VoidDestroyer.com to check out my space sim project - Void Destroyer
paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Re: Advice sought - porting game engine to 64 bit.