Need some orientation...

Anything and everything that's related to OGRE or the wider graphics field that doesn't fit into the other forums.
zhackie
Gnoblar

Need some orientation...

Post by zhackie »

Hi, I am a lost newbie trying to learn what's where here, and that means I have questions.

Specifically, I am trying to get the blender2ogre tool working for a dataset built off of an unreleased ogre version 2.0.0unstable (Tindalos).

And, of course, I know little about blender, little about ogre, little about python, and my c++ skills are weak.

Anyways... blender2ogre has a readme which states that I need to set the correct path to OGRETOOLS_XML_CONVERTER in io_ogre/config.py prior to the first run.

So, first question: how much have the mesh and skeleton file formats changed with version? (How can I know if the version I am trying to download for ogrexmlconverter.exe is going to be adequate or is going to mess things up when I manipulate files?)

But, also, when I look at that config.py, I see several other executables being referenced, and the readme doesn't address them:

check-for-updates.exe
convert.exe
jmonkeyplatform.exe
MeshMagick.exe
Meshy.exe
OgreXmlConverter.exe

check-for-updates is amusing, given how much downloads and download locations seem to have changed over the years. I am not sure whether I should hope I can find a working version (which might solve other problems for me) or whether I should hope that I never need a working version (because it would create more problems than it could possibly solve). Maybe both...

convert.exe is from imagemagick. So, I've already got that.

I haven't even begun to look at jmonkeyplatform. It's gotten to the point where I realize I need someone sane to point me in approximately the right direction.