Maintaining x64 / x86 library versions

Get answers to all your basic programming questions. No Ogre questions, please!
Post Reply
drsly
Gnoblar
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:32 am

Maintaining x64 / x86 library versions

Post by drsly » Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:53 pm

Hi all,

I'm still in the early stages of setting up my development environment. So I've been playing around with different compiler / IDE / +cmake configurations both on Windows and Linux (ok, mainly on Windows :) ).

Today I saw this linker error for the first time:
module machine type 'x64' conflicts with target machine type 'X86'

So I'm curious, how do you all deal with 32 bit vs 64 bit dependencies? Can a .dll or .lib be built to work with both 32 bit and 64 bit executable?

I think that the answer is it's not possible, so is there a need to build both 32 bit and 64 bit versions for all libraries?
0 x

Transporter
Minaton
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:37 am
Location: Germany
x 1

Re: Maintaining x64 / x86 library versions

Post by Transporter » Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:09 am

drsly wrote:I think that the answer is it's not possible, so is there a need to build both 32 bit and 64 bit versions for all libraries?
Correct! For a x64 program you have to compile everything with x64 toolset - including all dependencies. If you don't want to do this by yourself, have a look at http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=69274
0 x

drsly
Gnoblar
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 9:32 am

Re: Maintaining x64 / x86 library versions

Post by drsly » Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:32 pm

Wow, commendable effort, keeping up all those binaries for so long. Do you plan to continue this for a while?

ATM I have access to vs2012 only, so I'll try to build from source, it's more difficult but I guess I'm learning a lot more as I go :)

I'm sure this will help me sometime in the future, so thank you.
0 x

Transporter
Minaton
Posts: 933
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:37 am
Location: Germany
x 1

Re: Maintaining x64 / x86 library versions

Post by Transporter » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:14 pm

I'm sorry. I've dropped VS2012 and VS2010 support not long ago, because I don't have enough time to build multiple platforms. I have a very slow computer, so I need up to two days to build all packages for one Visual Studio version.

If you sponsor me to get a faster computer I could start building 2012 again. :wink:
Btw, VS2013 is freeware you don't have to pay for it.
0 x

Post Reply