OpenFrag - Some screens and a mapdemo.

A place to show off your latest screenshots and for people to comment on them. Only start a new thread here if you have some nice images to show off!
User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:01 pm

You ripper! He steals my pics! ;)

New page. Previous message(left pic out):
IFASS wrote:http://img481.imageshack.us/img481/8451/naamloos2kq.jpg

Very much progress on the networking part.. updates soon ;)
0 x

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Wed Jun 28, 2006 7:01 pm

0 x

Gauntlet
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:58 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by Gauntlet » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:55 pm

Nice to see the project developing further every day :)

Could any of you comment about your daily experiences with Yake?
Are you using all of it, or do you use some self written components too?

Hm, the openfrag.org site isn't reachable. So I have to ask here: Means OpenFrag it is an opensource FPS? So if yes, is there any source available for the public?

Rock on. ;)
0 x

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Wed Jun 28, 2006 10:00 pm

www.openfrag.org 'should' work, as well as its subdomains. We have our project enlisted on Sourceforge.net and our source is available through subversion. Do a checkout using : https://svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/openfrag/openfrag/

:)
0 x

Gauntlet
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:58 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by Gauntlet » Wed Jun 28, 2006 10:10 pm

Ok thank you.
Great to see a Yake project :)

But I always get a timeout when I want to open www.openfrag.org (already pinged the site). The DNS gives me the right IP, but then a timeout. Am I the only one with this problems? A few days ago the site worked fine for me.
0 x

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Wed Jun 28, 2006 10:12 pm

Gauntlet wrote:Ok thank you.
Great to see a Yake project :)

But I always get a timeout when I want to open www.openfrag.org (already pinged the site). The DNS gives me the right IP, but then a timeout. Am I the only one with this problems? A few days ago the site worked fine for me.
It works fine here.. but it might be possible that your DNS isn't updated or something?

Try openfrag.org instead of www.openfrag.org.. or directly connect to the IP :)
0 x
Image

Gauntlet
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:58 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by Gauntlet » Wed Jun 28, 2006 11:14 pm

So I'm really sorry for hi-jacking this thread.

Cleaned my DNS-Cache, but that didn't solve anything. It also doesn't matter if I put a "www" in front of the url.
No browser is loading the site (Firefox, Opera & IE)

The IP I get per ping is: [85.234.236.66] is that the correct ip?
Really weird, I could swear the site was working 1-2 days ago for me.

Thanks.

EDIT: It's a timeout, what I get. So he seems to find the site, but it doesn't respond fast enough or something.
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:03 am

Hehe, OpenFrag is just too popular! :)
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:10 am

That is indeed the correct IP.. allthough it's working fine here. Strange :(
0 x
Image

User avatar
SuprChikn
Bugbear
Posts: 863
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 6:10 am
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Contact:

Post by SuprChikn » Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:40 am

The site works fine for me.

Something strange on Gauntlet's end or something...
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:12 am

Could it have anything to do with OpenFrag being BlenderNation'ed? :)

http://www.blendernation.com/2006/06/28 ... e-library/ :wink:
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

BlackDragon
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Austria

Post by BlackDragon » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:49 am

Or it is an Austrian issue, because it doesn't work for me either.
0 x

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:03 am

jacmoe: Well, the dataserver is as laggy as hell. We seriously cannot download from it anymore, so I guess there are some dudes downloadin the 230 mb package :S :)
0 x

User avatar
BRAINLESS
Goblin
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 6:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by BRAINLESS » Thu Jun 29, 2006 2:15 pm

Amazing how many people tried to download the texture package, we totally couldn't handle it. I'm trying to upload it to sourceforge as soon as possible, I just hope it doesn't take too long :P
0 x
Proud member of the OpenFRAG Game Development community

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:11 pm

Image
0 x
Image

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:29 pm

IFASS please resize. and btw, how come he didnt use mapviewer :F
0 x

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:32 pm

Levia wrote:IFASS please resize. and btw, how come he didnt use mapviewer :F
Maybe because it isn't downloadable? :F
0 x
Image

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:33 pm

Maybe because I was just kidding?
0 x

Gauntlet
Gnoblar
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 4:58 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by Gauntlet » Fri Jun 30, 2006 1:46 pm

Well, actually the texture pack is great :)
Although most of the textures are just there as icon and the real texture is missing?

And.. I'm now able to reach openfrag.org again, but it seems that it has been defaced by someone.
Hopefully you didn't lose important files by that.
Hacked By ClaSs-ErroR
Why are there so many "hackers" (more likely wannabes) who always have attack opensource projects. I mean what the heck?
Aren't those guys aware of the fact that they should appreciate OS?
0 x

Oogst
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1034
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 8:49 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Oogst » Fri Jun 30, 2006 5:04 pm

I did not download the full package, but are you sure all these texture are free to distribute? I have that texture 004metal for years now, so it was not hand-made for openFrag. Did you check that these textures are not just what people collected themselves from other packages?
0 x
blog.oogst3d.net: my dev blog and portfolio
Ronimo Games: my game dev company
Awesomenauts: platforming MOBA (PC/Mac/Linux/XBox360/PS3/PS4)
Swords & Soldiers: side-scrolling RTS (PS3/Wii/PC/Mac/Linux/iPhone/iPad/Android)
Proun: abstract racing game (PC)
Cello Fortress: mixing game and live cello performance

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Fri Jun 30, 2006 10:09 pm

Gauntlet wrote:Well, actually the texture pack is great :)
Although most of the textures are just there as icon and the real texture is missing?

And.. I'm now able to reach openfrag.org again, but it seems that it has been defaced by someone.
Hopefully you didn't lose important files by that.
Hacked By ClaSs-ErroR
Why are there so many "hackers" (more likely wannabes) who always have attack opensource projects. I mean what the heck?
Aren't those guys aware of the fact that they should appreciate OS?
Look in the Texture folder.. just look up the name :)
All textures are there.
0 x
Image

User avatar
IFASS
Gnome
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by IFASS » Thu Jul 06, 2006 9:18 pm

crap crap crap!

We're Slashdotted
by Vandilizer (201798) on Thursday July 06, @01:25PM (#15668338)
Frag count

www.Slashdot.org: 1
www.openfrag.org: 0

Slashdot wins this round...OpenFrag is dead.
http://games.slashdot.org/games/06/07/06/1525256.shtml


8)
0 x
Image

User avatar
BRAINLESS
Goblin
Posts: 282
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 6:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by BRAINLESS » Sun Jul 16, 2006 4:27 pm

Time for a bit of an update! We just got networking running, though the yake team still puts it down as alpha code. It's aimed entirely at customization, which means plugins can define their own packets (like a packet that sends movement data for players). We try to define a shitload of standard packets as well, but for now there aren't any that work. Packets are completely decoupled from their handling, so if one project defines a packet for movement, another just has to change the way information from that packet is handled - rather then redefining the exact same packet.

I still have to see if it's actually as useful as I'm hoping, but so far it looks really good.

I'm now working on getting a simple multiplayer Pong working, nothing fancy, but it can be used as a sample and should explain most of our networking code (hopefully).

Things are steadily progressing :)
0 x
Proud member of the OpenFRAG Game Development community

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:50 pm

In my opinion network is a very important aspect of an game engine/game, thats why ours is so big :P
0 x

User avatar
Levia
Halfling
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Levia » Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:18 pm

Progress!
I'd better show this with screenshots..

1st: The MasterServer waiting...
http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/9472/1uj3.jpg

2nd: Oi! A server is being booted! He identifies with the MasterServer and sends his information to the MasterServer, the MasterServer accepts registration and adds the server to the serverlist!
http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/9932/2ud8.jpg

3rd: Started oF, clicked the "Multiplayer" button. From there it connects to the MasterServer and requests the list of servers, list is being sent, client handles it and populates the list box with REAL information!
http://img91.imageshack.us/img91/2012/3tj6.jpg

There ya go.
Ofcourse the text needs to be changed on some points, and some code will change also probably but its working quite good.

More coming soon.
0 x

Post Reply