ArtifexTerra Terrain Editor [1.2 Beta Release 10.3.14 Pg.16]

A place to show off your latest screenshots and for people to comment on them. Only start a new thread here if you have some nice images to show off!
Post Reply
User avatar
SiENcE
Goblin
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by SiENcE »

Is it possible to IMPORT my own Heightmap in ArtifexTerra (8bit greyscaled BMP, 6144x4096 pixel), Edit it, and EXPORT it again to an 8bit BMP?

Scaling should also be noticed, since i think i'm using a different Z Worldscaling.

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

No sorry, ETM doesn't support the size, you would get the following result:
Error message: OGRE EXCEPTION(2:InvalidParametersException): Heightmap width must be a multiple of (tileSize-1) + 1 in ET::Impl::checkInfo at .\src\ETTerrainManager.cpp (line 63)
which pretty much explains the required size format. So the only way with the current version is to chop it up and convert it to PNG. 8 Bit would be no problem but the output is either 16bit PNG or a custom float binary. I would not recommend 8 bit anyway since it comes with a fat quality loss, 16 bit already has a slight but noticable loss being converted from the internal float array. If you load and save around 20 times from and to 16 bit PNG you will already suffer a very visible data erosion and previously smooth slopes will look stairy - the reason I started default saving to binary.

The scaling should be no problem and can be set freely.

User avatar
SiENcE
Goblin
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by SiENcE »

ok. Thanks for this answer.
But my Engine uses an 8bit heightmap and i have to use it. I'ts a bit more complicated. I have an 8bit heightmap and an 16bit colormap of sizes up to 6144x4096 pixel, where each pixel is an Tile.

Now i searched the web for a good TerrainEditor doing the heightmap stuff. The colormap is more difficult and i don't expect to find an programm todo this. But i want to draw the heightmap and maybe also generate the shadowmap. Thats why i'm asking, weather i could import/export my own files. Because I love the way i could draw in your Editor :).

this is for example a combined color+heightmap: http://sience.schattenkind.net/iris4kin ... n10%29.png

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

Thanks for the compliment on the drawing :) - As said, Importing is possible, maybe an idea would be to run the 8 bit through a smarter algorithm to convert it to 16bit without stairs. For the exporting, you could take the binary float format and try to find a way to convert it with a minimum of quality loss to 8 bit. For the format see the Artifex loader code that comes with the installation. A 16 bit colourmap is something I have to pass for now too. Otherwise if you are not in a hurry and without revealing too much yet, the next artifex version might fit your needs much better.

User avatar
SiENcE
Goblin
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 3:07 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by SiENcE »

Ok. I take a look at your loader code.

If you want, i can do beta tests for you. If you want, you can contact me over icq.

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

SiENcE wrote:Ok. I take a look at your loader code.

If you want, i can do beta tests for you. If you want, you can contact me over icq.
Thanks for offering, I might get back to you about it soon :)

hangchon18
Halfling
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:03 am

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by hangchon18 »

Nauk:
Is ArtifexTerra still developed? How to get ArtifexTerra's source code?

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

It is still under development, just not very active at the moment because I am busy with other stuff. About the source code, there is currently no way to get it, but I am considering source licensing right now.

shanefarris
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:36 pm
x 6

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by shanefarris »

I would definitely be interested in purchasing a licence to the source, I think this tool is awesome.

Also seems like your site has been down for the last few days at least.

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

Thanks for your interest and nice feedback Shanefarris, you can contact me on MSN if you want :) And yes the site is down at the moment, moving to a new provider, it will be up very soon again, going to setup a mirror meanwhile. Thanks for the notification :).

*edit*
Download mirror: http://www.shareware.de/artifexterra3d- ... y-edition/

shanefarris
Greenskin
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:36 pm
x 6

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by shanefarris »

I added you on msn, hope to hear from you soon. I tried the new link to download, and both mirrors don't work either.

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

Hmm, that is odd, the first link, aka the "download" button works fine for me... but this is only temporary anyway :) Thanks for notifying me.

User avatar
Nipash
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:02 pm
Location: Seattle Washington

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nipash »

First of all I have to say thank you for making the only terrain editor (I have tried over 15) that can edit heightmaps, alpha maps and color maps all at once plus be very easy and intuitive to use. I have one question though that I'll just post here since the official Artifex forums don't work. Does Artifex Terra 3D support heightmaps above the resolution 1025x1025? I tried replacing the template heightmap (adjusting the terrain settings accordingly of course) with my own 2049x2049 heightmap (with the same BPP and greyscale as the 1025x1025 one). However, I get a wierd error where I can only edit the first 1/4 of the terrain. I don't think I did anything wrong because all of the images are exactly the same format as the ones included in the template (except heightmap size). Any help?
Current Projects:
SEMI Tropics: Coming Soon!
Snow: Currently working on....

Dredogol
Goblin
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 4:56 pm

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Dredogol »

Strange...
Everything directed at your website is all down.
Is the web server still up and running?

Can't view any of the SS or even DL the binary...

User avatar
Sslaxx
Greenskin
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Malvern, Worcs., UK
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Sslaxx »

Dredogol wrote:Strange...
Everything directed at your website is all down.
Is the web server still up and running?

Can't view any of the SS or even DL the binary...
Getting a parking page here.
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore

Dredogol
Goblin
Posts: 208
Joined: Tue May 01, 2007 4:56 pm

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Dredogol »

Hey Nauk...

What happened to the AT3d website :!: :?:
It's been over 2 months now, and the website is still dead.

Is there any other way to DL the binary?
I used to have a copy over a year ago for a class project, but I don't have that anymore...

User avatar
Xypher
Gremlin
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:35 am
Location: Richmond, IN; USA
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Xypher »

Nauk, where'd you go? :(
Ubuntu Studio 13.04 64-bit
GCC 4.8.1
Ogre3D 1.8.1
AMD Athlon FX 8120 @4Ghz
16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws (PC3-12800)
EVGA GeForce 560 Ti FTW

http://www.hellbatgames.com

User avatar
Beauty
OGRE Community Helper
OGRE Community Helper
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: Germany
x 39
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Beauty »

I created a wiki page for this editor.
http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/tiki-ind ... ifex+Terra

It would be great when somebody adds details.
Also the videos can be embedded to the page by the youtube button in the edit menue. (maybe you need to enable the advanced edit mode)

Also one or more screenshots would be nice.
How to add images you can read here:
http://www.ogre3d.org/tikiwiki/Help+-+Images

More help you find in the wiki menu at "Ogre Wiki Help".

It would be nice to add it to the OGRE DCC Tools page.




The website is dead since months.
@Nauk: It would be great if you upload the latest binary version to a public repository (like code.goodle.com, soureforge, etc.).
Maybe also the source code (if you like to share), screenshots, help files, wiki snapshot, ...
Help to add information to the wiki. Also tiny edits will let it grow ... :idea:
Add your country to your profile ... it's interesting to know from where of the world you are.

User avatar
Beauty
OGRE Community Helper
OGRE Community Helper
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: Germany
x 39
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Beauty »

Nauk, your project page http://www.artifexterra3d.com is dead (and now grabbed by a spammer).
Maybe you closed your nice project.
In this case it would be great if you publish the code and useful stuff on a public hoster , which keep the content online for many years (e.g. Sourceforge, code.google, bitbucket), because it could be still useful for other people.
I'm sad to see several good projects going dead, ...
Help to add information to the wiki. Also tiny edits will let it grow ... :idea:
Add your country to your profile ... it's interesting to know from where of the world you are.

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Nauk »

The website is dead since almost a year now and I have been very busy, too busy to find time or energy to work on it sadly. There is a new domain since quite a while, that will be filled soon(tm) at least with a placeholder and download page to speed things up: www.artifexterra.com . I finally have time now over xmas and new years to rebuild it. There is also a couple of new features sitting idle half finished to almost finished on my hardddrive since a year or so, including a new gtkmm gui. Thanks for the interest, feedback and notifying me :)

User avatar
Beauty
OGRE Community Helper
OGRE Community Helper
Posts: 767
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: Germany
x 39
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Beauty »

Many thanks for your reply. :D
Also it's great that you want to put it online again.
I will remove the "dead project" note from the wiki page and add the link to your new website.

I whish you smooth cristmas days with a little bit more free time!
Help to add information to the wiki. Also tiny edits will let it grow ... :idea:
Add your country to your profile ... it's interesting to know from where of the world you are.

User avatar
Xypher
Gremlin
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 1:35 am
Location: Richmond, IN; USA
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Bugfix - Pg.8]

Post by Xypher »

Awesome, I'll add a feature to brush your teeth for you, too! ;)
Was hoping you'd come back some time Nauk! I love the editor!
Ubuntu Studio 13.04 64-bit
GCC 4.8.1
Ogre3D 1.8.1
AMD Athlon FX 8120 @4Ghz
16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws (PC3-12800)
EVGA GeForce 560 Ti FTW

http://www.hellbatgames.com


drwbns
Orc Shaman
Posts: 777
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Costa Mesa, California
x 23

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Up again]

Post by drwbns »

It doesn't work for me... works in firefox, not in IE9

User avatar
Nauk
Gnoll
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 9:12 pm
Location: Bavaria
x 25
Contact:

Re: ArtifexTerra - Terrain editor [0.90RC2b - Up again]

Post by Nauk »

Still not? I havent tested in IE9 tbh. IE7/8 seems to work fine now.

Post Reply