[SoC 2006] RmOgreInstaller

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

[SoC 2006] RmOgreInstaller

Post by buddy » Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:43 am

I've composed a preliminary installer for RenderMonkey stuff that was developed this summer (python plugin rewritement + some kind of previewer). You are expected to run windows and RenderMonkey 1.6 is expected to be installed somewhere before launching installer. Root credentials for user that runs installer is also expected.
There is no mention of license in the installer right now, but it is MIT.

URL: http://sukhoy.public.iastate.edu/soc200 ... ller20.exe

Note that the whole plugin logic is now implemented in python. Besides, it means that you do not need visual studio to tweak things - just text editor.

The missing part is of course docs on rmsdk wrapper and on minimal ogre wrapper I had to write - oh yes, with boost::python (it is no trouble, although PyOGRE folks for some reason think so :)). There was some reason why PyOgre was not an option - primarily because of material serializer lack, but after that I had to develop "fake material framework" just to use that serializer properly, so probably doing mini wrapper was the best thing I could do for now. The previewer itself is extremely simplistic, just slightly redesigned example framework which maps given material over ogrehead. I used to have had some code which deals with RenderMonkey geometry, but because of flaw in my backup strategy it is gone - I plan to resurrect it once stop mourning :(.

As for functionality - the functionality is pretty much the same except that now builtin OGRE serializer is used (through "fake" material framework), so the result is expected to be much more robust against possible changes in material framework. I think I will add zip file support and GL branch pretty soon.

And I expect this version to be much more tweaking-friendly, as I mentioned above.
0 x

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19261
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
Contact:

Post by sinbad » Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:04 pm

Well done. Definitely on my 'to play with' list :)
0 x

User avatar
Wretched_Wyx
Orc
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 5:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Wretched_Wyx » Wed Aug 30, 2006 7:14 am

Awesome. I was just thinking about this the other day, as I started to get a little understanding of creating shaders in RenderMonkey. Thanks for creating and maintaining such a darn useful tool.
0 x

yoursort
Gnoblar
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:27 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Post by yoursort » Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:22 pm

Hi,
can´t wait to play with the new exprter but do I need some additional libraries or something?
I´ve installed RenderMonkey 1.6 and RmOgre but now when I run RenderMonkey I get a "Visual C++ Runtime Error".
I´ve also installed the Visual C++ Redistributable (from Visual Studio 2005).

Hope you can help.
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:18 am

yoursort wrote: I´ve installed RenderMonkey 1.6 and RmOgre but now when I run RenderMonkey I get a "Visual C++ Runtime Error".
It is likely that I forgot to include some dependency in the installer. Could you C&P the error message (you can copy error message by hitting Ctrl-C while the error message is active)?

Obviously I should've tested it on more machines/configurations.
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:18 am

The application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
This could mean any number of things, but usually it is caused by missing DLLs and/or a mixup of release/debug configurations..
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

yoursort
Gnoblar
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:27 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Post by yoursort » Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:05 pm

Here it is:

Code: Select all

---------------------------
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
---------------------------
Runtime Error!

Program: C:\Programme\RenderMonkey 1.6\RenderMonkey.exe



This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information.


---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------
But I think this won´t help you.
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:45 am

yoursort wrote:Here it is:
But I think this won´t help you.
Indeed. Thanks anyway.
You may try to run depends.exe tool or filemon on RenderMonkey - maybe the missing dependency will show up.
Meanwhile I'll be testing it around to see if I have similar problem. I tried a couple of friend's machines, and everything went fine, but those folks are developers, so they may have smth installed that fixes the problem.
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:48 am

jacmoe wrote: mixup of release/debug configurations..
unlikely, since this usually shows up immediately after running release.
However in DLL hell situation everything is possible (and there is some DLL hell with devil.dll e.g. which is supplied by rendermonkey, but I haven't noticed any problems yet..)
0 x

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7144
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 14

Post by Kojack » Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:36 pm

Crashing for me too.
Depends says it's missing python24.dll and boost_python-vc80-mt-1_33_1.dll.

Edit: Forget that, I'm half asleep. Those files are installed into the rendermonkey directory, and I ran depends on the plugin in the plugins directory, so of course it couldn't see them. Wish I realised that before compiling boost. :)
0 x

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7144
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 14

Post by Kojack » Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:59 pm

Ok, fixed it. Pywin32 is required. I installed that, and rendermonkey now loads and exports shaders.

(The exporter was trying to find win32ui.*, which is part of pywin32. Yay for good old filemon)
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:04 pm

It's still crashing for me.
Maybe we are missing msvcrt.dll ?

<edit> I see! Going to grab that pyWin thingie .. </edit>
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7144
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 14

Post by Kojack » Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:08 pm

You need pywin32-209.win32-py2.4.exe, the newer one won't install if you have python24 (like the plugin uses).
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:16 pm

Yeah, I figured it would be a good idea to match versions.
I've used Python for Win32 before, and used to use an installer with everything in it, so if buddy used that, I can see how easy it is to overlook the fact that those extensions are not installed by the official Python install.

Woohoo! :)
I just exported the anisotropic sample to Ogre, and got that cool preview window! This is so great, buddy! :D
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

yoursort
Gnoblar
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 6:27 pm
Location: Leipzig, Germany

Post by yoursort » Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:21 pm

Cool, now it runs!
0 x

User avatar
syedhs
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 2702
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
x 2

Post by syedhs » Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:49 pm

Cool, I am downloading the tool and all its prerequisites. Shader programming is definitely on my todo list - this tool will certainly boost my confidence.

A bit OT: Previously I thought RM runs only on ATI, and FX Composer runs only on NVIDIA - that that is of course incorrect. What are the differences anyway?
0 x

User avatar
syedhs
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 2702
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
x 2

Post by syedhs » Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:09 pm

I have to admit - after fidling for more than an hour, the RM crashed on me whenever I clicked on one of the 'effect' nodes and this only occurs after I tried to view Edit -> Preference (RM doesn't show any preference window either). Definitely something lack or wrong - but I have no idea.

Have installed (listed in order):-
1) RM 1.6
1) Python-2.4.3.msi
2) pywin32-209.win32-py2.4.exe
3) RmOgreInstaller20.exe

All are installed in default directory, any extra manual copying?
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:06 pm

syedhs wrote: All are installed in default directory, any extra manual copying?
I'll check that out. There should be no copying once you got pywin32 right..
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:09 pm

syedhs wrote: A bit OT: Previously I thought RM runs only on ATI, and FX Composer runs only on NVIDIA - that that is of course incorrect. What are the differences anyway?
ATI is an ATI tool and FX Composer is an NVidia tool :)
FX Composer is DX-only, RM supports glslang shaders.
Actually both should run just fine, although some people tend to think that RM is a bit more plugin-friendly (although you can do pretty much the same with FXC too).
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:13 pm

jacmoe wrote: I just exported the anisotropic sample to Ogre, and got that cool preview window! This is so great, buddy! :D
Actually this preview is a bit less that I wanted to do.. It happened so that sinbad proposed to build what is now fxogretool as a part of SoC, and I did some poor job evaluating timeframes after that, and the previewer for RM got a little crude in the end.
Nevertheless you can see 'em in OGRE :)
Last edited by buddy on Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Tue Sep 12, 2006 10:15 pm

jacmoe wrote:Yeah, I figured it would be a good idea to match versions.
I've used Python for Win32 before, and used to use an installer with everything in it, so if buddy used that, I can see how easy it is to overlook the fact that those extensions are not installed by the official Python install.
Ok. Too bad all my friends and me too use ActivePython..
The CVS of installer script will get fixed, of course.
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Post by jacmoe » Tue Sep 12, 2006 11:27 pm

buddy wrote:Ok. Too bad all my friends and me too use ActivePython..
I used to use that one. But I switched to using the official Python win32 installation package directly from python.org.
I think I used ActivePython because there wasn't any official win installers around back then.
But that's changed. :wink:
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

buddy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 3:35 pm
Location: USA

Post by buddy » Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:29 am

jacmoe wrote:But that's changed. :wink:
Still there is no pywin32 in the official installer. That's kind of.. Anyway.
[OT]As for win installers - it seems that "official" one's are around for as much as 2-3 years. I do remember installing Py 1.6 with something like official installer back in stone age, although that can be a myth :). [/OT]
0 x

User avatar
Evak
Orc Shaman
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 7:51 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA
Contact:

Post by Evak » Sat Dec 02, 2006 12:21 am

Hmm. I installed python and pywin finaly getting rendermonkey to load up.

Unfortunately I can't find any sign of the ogre export feature from within rendermonkey.

When I select a shader effect to export and right click I only see FX
and from the file menu only FX and Pachage exporter.

I'm an artist not a coder so I have limited knowledge of technical stuff, but I did managed to get the old ogre exporter to work about 9 months ago.

Any pointers in regards to why nothing shows up?

This is the current 1.62 version of rendermonkey as there doesn't seem to be anything older avaliable on their site.
0 x

Al Capique
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:52 pm

Post by Al Capique » Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:41 pm

This happened with me too, then I installed the exporter with render Monkey 1.6 and the option shows up with a right click in efect name.
0 x

Post Reply