Proposal - Different LOD Strategies (Feedback request)

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
wakawaka
Gnoblar

Proposal - Different LOD Strategies (Feedback request)

Post by wakawaka » Wed Mar 28, 2007 4:48 pm

I submitted this proposal to gSOC and would appreciate feedback and suggestions.

I'm quite new to the OGRE community. I have created several games in the past. Flash games, and then moved on to C/C++ and openGL.

I need some time to learn more about the OGRE source code, so if anyone has suggestions/improvements to how LOD in OGRE can be improved, and any details about implementations, -please post!

PROPOSAL:

The aim of the proposal is to research and implement a more robust LOD solution than what is already in OGRE.

The current LOD system of Ogre only conciders distance from the camera and does not take into account the size of objects on the screen.

This proposal aims to improve the LOD system, so that zooming the camera or shrinking the viewport will have an effect on the level of detail of objects.

The implementation suggested is using the screen space of the bounding sphere to determine how big the objects are on screen. This would be a very fast and efficient method.

Another improvement is to add a generalized way of adding different LOD routines. A suggestion how this can be done is by adding a lod listener to the mesh objects, which will notify whenever there is a change to the LOD, allowing the user to create custom LOD routines.
:
One idea that I had for the LOD problem is to have a sizebias factor, which when set to a non-zero value, takes into account the bounding sphere screen size of the objects. The value of the sizebias (from 0 to 1) would then determine how much to take into account the size of the object.
This could also possibly introduce the new functionality without breaking the old.

Pseudocode:
(LOD could be a function of both screensize and distance)

If (sizebias)
LOD = (size*sizebias) + (distance*(1-sizebias))
Else