Getting involved in Ogre (although I did not make)

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
Magdy.W
Gnoblar

Getting involved in Ogre (although I did not make)

Post by Magdy.W »

Hello,

I did not make it this year & I am the blamed person, harder work & better luck next year. :)

I am interested in getting started in Open Source, super enthusiastic about the idea of involved in big open source projects…
Moreover, after I have read this post http://groups.google.com/group/google-s ... bb78?hl=en
I am now so interested to have internship in Ogre this summer, but I am new in open source thing, I do not know how/from where to start, what I have to do, the sort of needed stuff.

So please, I need advices here… Am I really can have the opportunity to get involved in Ogre this summer? & work on one of its projects!!

I know it probably will be unpaid, but this is okay for me, definitely, I accept that, & the experience I will get it really enough for me. :)

Thanks. ^^
Assaf Raman
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Post by Assaf Raman »

Start by downloading the latest code from the CVS head, then compile it, the go the Help Requested page, select a subject and implement it.

Also - you can look at the Feature Requests forum and find a topic to implement.

Start simple and move up.
Watch out for my OGRE related tweets here.
Magdy.W
Gnoblar

Post by Magdy.W »

Great... will do that, but what's next?!!

I mean, will there be a mentor, and when I pick a subject I am interested in implementing it, should I mention that somewhere here!

Is anyone allowed editing the source code after get it from CVS, should I have first an account or something like that?

Should I make an official plan/proposal (for the ppl @ Ogre)?

& here is another important thing; can I consider the involved in an open source project during my vacation as an internship?

^^
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator

Post by Kojack »