RFC: Serializing scripts into binary files

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
liquidmetal
Gnoblar

RFC: Serializing scripts into binary files

Post by liquidmetal »

Hello everyone! I'm Utkarsh Sinha, currently I'm in my second year of studies, pursuing B.E. (Hons) Computer Science + M.Sc. (Hons) Mathematics at BITS-Pilani, Goa Campus, India.

------------------

Project Proposal

Serialize scripts for a scene, like materials, shaders, particles systems, etc into a single binary file. Along with this,
an editor that lets you edit and save scripts directly into a binary file... ready for use with Ogre3D.

If possible, I could work with the person serializing the scene and probably serialize the scripts directly into the scene binary file.

-------------------

Schedule

23 May to 29 May - Start figuring out what all components can use a binary file format (eg:
30 May to 05 May - Document each component, detailing each property needed by every component.
06 Jun to 12 Jun - Document a binary format for each component, down to the last detail. Also create a format that allows for storing
multiple such binary components inside one single file.
13 Jun to 19 Jun - Start work on classes that serialize in and out each component.
20 Jun to 26 Jun - Continue work on the classes. Optimize, test and debug them, and make them flawless.
27 Jun to 03 Jul - Work on a single class that serializes in and out multiple components from a single class.
04 Jul to 10 Jul - Testing and debugging of all classes created till now.
11 Jul to 17 Jul - With the classes completed, start working on a graphical, realtime script editor.
18 Jul to 25 Jul - Continue work on the editor.
25 Jul to 01 Aug - Finish the editor. Optimizing, testing and debugging. Documenting it.

I plan to finish the project before August because my next semester starts around the first week of August. I will be available for coding during August too, but I want to finish the project before the semester starts :)