[GSoC 2011] Texture streaming

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
red[]
Gnoblar

[GSoC 2011] Texture streaming

Post by red[] » Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:45 pm

Hi everyone,

my name is Marco, I'm an Italian student, currently attending a master degree in Information Science. It's been some years since I've decided to do the GSoC, but I always had something to do, like my bachelor's degree thesis or other works... but, this year it's finally I hope I can attend the GSoC!

I've always been interested in game development, though I've never done anything in this field. I've quite an experience in programming though: I programmed Java, C, C#, C++, C++/CLI, and many more. The major projects I've worked on are an interpreter-compiler for a stochastic programming language for simulation of biological structures (Monte Carlo simulations, Gillespie's algorithm, like that), developed in C, Flex and Bison, and a surveillance suite based on proprietary libraries, entirely in C++/CLI, for a company in my city. These works gave me a strong background in object programming, thread management, and (ugh!) pointers :)

I'm actually planning to develop a game in OGRE / MOGRE with some of my friend, so I thought it could be very interesting give some help to OGRE :) so I examined the Help Requested Section and I found the Texture Streaming request, which really turned my interest on. I'd really like to implement the requests in the page, especially the first three steps seem really interesting and challenging to me :)

I don't know if the work is too big (or either too small, but I really don't think so :) ) for doing it in a GSoC, but I'd really like to give my help to Ogre and participating in the GSoC this year!

Cheers

Red
0 x

so0os
Bugbear

Re: [GSoC 2011] Texture streaming

Post by so0os » Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:56 pm

This is the best idea so far, imo!

Good luck with that!
0 x
Sos Sosowski :)
http://www.sos.gd

red[]
Gnoblar

Post by red[] » Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:00 pm