An example (Action-RTS) game made with Mogre?

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
Aralox
Gnoblar

An example (Action-RTS) game made with Mogre?

Post by Aralox »

Hi there, I only learned about the GSoC today (although I have heard about it before), and read up a heap on it.
I'm a university student, and am really keen on participating. The area I love the most is Mogre, and C#/.NET development.
Would it still be possible for me to contribute in that area?
After seeing Shaun's proposal for an example zombie game, I got really excited - I'd absolutely love to build an example game to showcase Mogre too, to show people that it (along with the C# language and other open-source libraries) is very capable of supporting awesome games. I'd like to do an Action-RTS game like League of Legends or Dota. I already have the basics of one going (a Co-op Survival style one), and would be delighted to use it for a GSoC project.

But before I get over-excited and carried away (may be too late already), Is this a valid project for a proposal? If it is, i'll get cracking on a kickass proposal right away :P
I understand that it may be too late, as the closing date for applications is the 9th.

Any advice would be greatly and humbly appreciated :)
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Re: An example (Action-RTS) game made with Mogre?

Post by spacegaier »

IMHO it is not too late, but I personally don't think that a game is a proper GSoC project and I know that at least some of the other team members feel the same way. Shaun had some valid points about spreading the word about Ogre, but I rather have the GSoC projects focus on Ogre Core stuff (terrain, first steps towards the new SceneManager design for Ogre 2.0 [many GSoC project topics in this area...see the respective discussion threads], etc.) than gaining a huge ("script-kiddie") community with the tradeoff of an engine not performing as much as it could.

But that are just my 0.02 cents...