[GSoC 2013 - accepted] Improve Progressive Mesh

Threads related to Google Summer of Code
sajty
Google Summer of Code Student

[GSoC 2013 - accepted] Improve Progressive Mesh

Post by sajty »

Hi!
I’m Peter Szücs and I’m studying Master of Computer Engineering at Budapest University of Technology and Economics.
Sorry for the late proposal. I hope it's not too late.

Motivation
It's waste of performance to have high quality models in faraway distance. Games can gain lot of performance by reducing faraway models and Ogre provides two methods for this: Manually created mesh LOD (for example in Blender) and generated mesh LOD. Blender supports nice reduction algorithms, why don't we just use that? First manually created mesh LOD creates a separated mesh for each LOD level, which means vertex data is duplicated for each LOD, which makes a big memory overhead. The memory overhead is needed, because Blender moves the vertices from original position to a calculated new position, so we need a separated vertex buffer too. Why don't we use Hoppe's algorithm or other more advanced techniques for reduction? These techniques have got the same problem as Blender. Also it would add limitations: For example if the mesh has bone weights or custom vertex data passed to a vertex shader than you can’t just insert a vertex. So the goal of my GSoC proposal is to improve current progressive mesh algorithm.

How to use it currently?
The progressive mesh algorithm was rewritten multiple times and the interface differs between v1.7, v1.8 and v1.9. I have created the MeshLod sample for v1.9 to show the LOD features. However if you just need more performance, you can run the following code on every mesh:

Code: Select all

Ogre::QueuedProgressiveMeshGenerator pm;
pm.generateAutoconfiguredLodLevels(mesh);
Proposal
I would like to do 6 independent tasks related to progressive mesh: