Need Career/Higher-Education advice. MBA to Soft.Development

A place for Ogre users to discuss non-Ogre subjects with friends from the community.
ahmedali
Gnome

Need Career/Higher-Education advice. MBA to Soft.Development

Post by ahmedali »

Hi

Im 25, and in Pakistan, I started self-learning C++ at age of 15 because I wanted to develop games and internet told me thats how big guys do. So I learned many things along the way.

I hold a bachelor degree in Commerce I will be completing my MBA in Finance in 5 months, have a CGPA of 3.5. I lived a parallel life throught this time and have gained plenty of knowledge in diverse domains of game development as a hobby :D . How I joined MBA and why not took qualifications in computer science is lil complicated :) ...

I can get a good job and career after my MBA, but I just I asked my self what I want to do for rest of my life....

What I want...

Apply for studies abroad in a country with reasonable gamedev market.
Get a job, based on non-computer-science qualification :? and the gamedev related work I have done.
And get a Bachelor/Master qualification related to computer-science.

I dont know how it works or how it will work in my case but one of my friend suggested to look for Germany for "affordable" education, and if I can recall there are plenty of game companies there. I have looked into studies+work related matters for foreign students and other issues. Taking some consultancy agencies but they dont seem to get my gamedev part...

But I need to know if it can or how it will work? anyone from germany? Any alternatives?
xavier
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator

Re: Need Career/Higher-Education advice. MBA to Soft.Develop

Post by xavier »

Games are not about just programming. Someone needs to run the business, and you would be surprised at how many game studios fail because they are not run by businesspersons.