What game are you playing now?

A place for Ogre users to discuss non-Ogre subjects with friends from the community.
Post Reply
User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines
x 134

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by c6burns »

This War Of Mine is totally worth playing if anyone was wondering. I'm hooked on it. Survived for a month and now I'm working hard not to freeze to death in dead of winter :lol:

User avatar
cybereality
Hobgoblin
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:40 pm
x 12

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by cybereality »

I just started on Assassin's Creed 2 (old I know) but with Nvidia 3D Vision Surround on triple Asus Rog Swifts (7680x1440). It is amazing!

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

c6burns wrote:This War Of Mine is totally worth playing if anyone was wondering. I'm hooked on it. Survived for a month and now I'm working hard not to freeze to death in dead of winter :lol:
On my list.
I've heard of it for a long time.

User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines
x 134

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by c6burns »

Played Dragon Age: Inquisition for about an hour then asked for a refund from EA Origin. I will do my best to explain this without swearing ...

I have been a fan of BioWare for a long time. Since the beginning. The late 90's infinity engine games ... and all the rest of them up to the present. Inquisition is probably an amazing game, but I won't know because I feel pretty insulted by the DRM in it. Not gonna play it.

I lost internet for a few seconds and that caused me to lose the ability to save my game. OK no big deal, but I like playing on nightmare difficulty ... so what if I die? I didn't end up dying and the save feature came back after a while. But for some reason I never regained the ability to spend my ability points when I level up. If you lose internet just for a moment, you have to restart the game. Period. Is it that big of an inconvenience? Alt-f4 and relaunch, no big deal ... but it's insulting. I spend almost a full minute clicking and tapping keys trying to figure out why I couldn't spend ability points. In the bottom corner in red text "some features on this screen are currently unavailable" and suddenly I realize its the DRM.

Fuck you EA for buying my favorite RPG company and putting this trash DRM in their games. Sorry ... I had to swear :( I'm hoping after their initial sales spike they will be content with their piles of money and relax the DRM a bit. Oh well ... I've got things to do anyway. Avoiding sinking 100 hours into a Dragon Age title isn't such a bad thing :lol:

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

If you like visual novels, I'm playing this one which is not bad at all: http://dysfunctionalsystems.com/
Very verbose and only a few choices so far, but the setting is interesting.


Also, Grimrock 2 seem awesome, played half an hour, but it's also incredibly slow for me even in low resolution and with almost no good graphics ;__;
I'll certainly get a new desktop computer in a few months so I'll wait then to play this game.

I also tried Planetary Annihilation like 10 minutes and was astonished at the bad UI design in the beginning, the lack of an actual solo campain to drive me in the universe and the choice of music which is not very good to me...
Not happy about this one... :/ Maybe it's better in multiplayer.

Meanwhile, I'm considering paying someone to help fix maths/geometry issues in my game's code. I think I did something wrong but am not comptetent enough to fix it apparently. But I need to refactor some code before doing that.

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

I've got very unstable internet (worse in summer, such as right now) so that would be annoying. (I was thinking of buying DA tonight too, think I'll hold off for now)

Witcher 3 is only 3 months away. DRM free. :)

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

I couldn't play the first 2 games because of weak computer...

User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines
x 134

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by c6burns »

Kojack wrote:Witcher 3 is only 3 months away. DRM free. :)
Yeah CD Projekt just won a new hardcore fan ... I had read about their experiences and perspective on DRM. Funny thing is, I haven't played Witcher 2. I know I really should as it comes highly recommended.

But yeah for whatever reason my internet keeps having tiny brain farts over the last few days (go go Comcast!) ... so DA:I is unplayable. At least EA issues refunds on their Origin purchases if you apply fast enough ... although I'm still waiting on them to approve the request.

User avatar
cybereality
Hobgoblin
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:40 pm
x 12

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by cybereality »

@Klaim: Thanks for the recommendation. Dysfunctional Systems looks cool. Just picked it up.

Also, I've been playing DiRT3 with Surround setup, pretty sweet.

Image

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

Last night I jumped on the band wagon and bought Elite Dangerous.

Back around 84-85 I used to go to a friend's house to play games on his Commodore 64 (I had a TRS-80, and almost no games at first, so I learned to program instead). One of our favourites was Elite. We'd write down prices of trade items on paper, trying to plan good routes.

Later I got an Amiga and it's version of Elite. So much better, but still the same basic game. Wow, solid graphics instead of wireframe! :)


When Elite 2 came out on the Amiga it blew away every other space sim. Well, in all ways but combat. Dog fighting was crap, but that wasn't my concern. Exploring and trading was my main thing.
I used to watch the intro cutscene over and over.

Later on PC I got Elite 3, but it was a bit of a mess. I didn't get into it like the previous ones.


Now 30 years after playing Elite 1 I'm on Elite 4. After 14 years of David talking about Elite 4 I wasn't really convinced I'd ever see it finished.
So last night I bought it and downloaded the installer.
I started the installer going. 5 hours later it finished downloading (their server was way slower than my 100Mb/s internet). YAY!
Then I realised that's only the tutorial. The full game is a separate download. :(
But I jumped in the tutorials. I set it to the default for my Hotas Warthog joystick.
I started the tutorial. It said something along the lines of:
"Press Joy21 to arm weapons. Press Joy5 to select a target."
WTF is Joy21? My hotas is exposed as 51 buttons, 7 axes and a hat (the other 5 hats are included in the 51 buttons). I had to try everything until I eventually found arming weapons on the Hotas warning silence button.
What they really need is a display of active input in the config section, showing lights or something when you press buttons to know what they map too. Other simulators do that, it works well.

After a couple of tutorials I tried to install the full game.
But after 23MB it failed on data.ovx, saying it couldn't be validated. I went to bed instead.
Tonight I tried again. Messed with antivirus/firewall, deleted the file, tried to install many times. Every time a fail. Others are hit by this bug on the Elite forum.
I had to download a data.ovx (it's only 1.2MB) from someone else to get past that bit of the installer.
I've now spent the last 2 hours downloading. Speed has dropped to 0MB/s most of the time. Still got a third of the game left.

At some point I might be able to play the actual game.

While I wait, maybe I should play some Independence War 2 (best space sim ever).

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

Yay, it finished downloading!
And... now it's updating and the progress bar is back at the beginning.
:(

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

I'll try it when I finally get a decent gaming computer.
I played Elite2 : Frontier a lot on Amiga but did't get far in the game, I mostly explored possigbilities before getting stuck in desert space or killed by the authorities.


By the way, Steam Christmas Sales is on. We are doomed.

User avatar
Zonder
Ogre Magi
Posts: 1135
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:51 pm
Location: Manchester - England
x 58

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Zonder »

Kojack wrote:I had a TRS-80, and almost no games at first, so I learned to program instead
I had the same problem (Dragon32 though same thing more or less though)

Elite is one game I never played so I might give this one a go.
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't...

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

Ah, good old dragon 32. :)
I had the TRS-80 Coco2.

I got the full Elite Dangerous game updated, plugged n the oculus rift dk2 and gave it a try.
Maybe I should practice more first, using the menus to set up controls while in vr is hard (it's barely readable). Also Elite uses red for most of the in-game hud, and on the DK2 red and blue are half the resolution of green, so even more unreadable than the white menus. I also had bad judder when I moved my head (actual gameplay is smooth, it seems to be the head tracking). I also don't know how to play yet.
But despite all that, as my ship lifted off of the pad inside of a station and I could look out of the cockpit to see things above and around me... damn!
Then I did the dogfighting tutorial again (in vr this time). Being able to easily look off axis to find enemies was great.
I still think DCS has better potential, due to shorter distances and more detailed surroundings. Landscape shows stereo better than space. But it was definitely cool. Can't wait for CV1.

It's a little odd looking down to see a Saitek X52 in the pilot's hand, since I replaced my X52 with a Warthog. :) Enough movies use the X52 (joystick or throttle) as a futuristic control that I wasn't too surprised though.

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

I found settings in a config file to make Elite have a green hud.
I didn't try it with the rift yet though, instead I just did it on my monitor to get the settings right and learn the mechanics.
I can't believe how flat it looks. Just a picture, instead of a cockpit that surrounds me.

One annoying thing with the HOTAS Warthog is that while it has a ton of controls on it, many of them are switches. Games generally don't understand switches, they want buttons. Elite has a landing gear button, press it to lower the gear, press it again to raise them. But on the Warthog 16 buttons are actually switches, some of which are mutually exclusive. For example, buttons 27 and 28 are actually two positions on a three way switch. The two engine switches are 3 way with spring loaded temporary in one direction and permanent in the other. It's hard to map controls to them, since all these work as held down controls, not tap.
Great for an A10 simulator (since these are the real controls of an A10), but not good for other games.
Elite isn't picking up my foot pedals either. I changed the joystick to do pitch/yaw instead of pitch roll, but now I can't roll because I was going to use the pedals for that.
There doesn't seem to be a throttle dead zone either, so getting 0 thrust is tricky (you can have a 0 to 1 throttle, that's easy to stop, but has no reverse. I'm using a -1 to 1 throttle setting).

Gameplay is still a bit confusing. The tutorials showed how to use frame shift drives and supercruise to get around fast. I started the actual solo game, launched, and tried to go to frame shift. It told me I couldn't because the cloud wasn't scanned. Umm, what? How do I do that?

I feel like playing right now (that's a good sign), but I need to do a massive cleanup today before christmas. :(

User avatar
Thyrion
Goblin
Posts: 224
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 1:58 pm
Location: germany
x 8

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Thyrion »

christmas holidays ... yeah!

but no activity here...

time to conquer the world in Civ V :)

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

Civ Beyond Earth: It's a trap! (for your time)

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

Still haven't gotten my saitek rudder pedals to work in Elite Dangerous. My Space Pilot Pro is detected, my Hotas Warthog works fine. It's not like Frontier doesn't like Saitek products, the in game joystick/throttle is actually a recoloured Saitek X52 HOTAS. Others say it works fine. But not for me.
So I'm using the boat switch on the warthog throttle to toggle between roll and yaw. Better than nothing I guess.

Trading seems annoying. The whole trading interface, especially between systems, is annoying. X3 did it better.
Combat was too hard at first too (I didn't know that pitch is nerfed if you don't have your throttle set to match a certain mark on the speed gauge).
So I made some money salvaging black boxes (almost got caught, had to rush a docking to stop a security skip scanning me). Then I upgraded a little (gimbled pulse lasers, slightly improved ship internals). Now I'm pirate hunting, taking on 50000-80000 credits worth of wanted ships at a time.

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

I upgraded to a fixed rail gun and a gimbled burst laser. My next hunting run picked me up 170,000 credits (only returned to a station to refill my rail gun).
Nice.

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

Started Hatoful Boyfriend but got killed (literally). Will play again soon.

Bought several games these last days:

- Crypt of the Necrodancer (early access)
- Banished
- Waking Mars
- The Talos Principle
- The Forest (early access)


I don't like to get early access games but these one tempted me for a long time and Steam managed to push me to buy them, I am so weak.

The Talos Principle have been recommended for several weeks by a lot of smart people so I got it, I just hope it will run correctly on my laptop.

I forgot: I got my PS3 and bought all extensions to Dark Souls 2. They are very very good. I finished the first one almost 100% in around 8 hours, the dragon boss is very awesome.
However the optional boss is designed for multiplayer so you endup there with bots because it looks like nobody is connected there when I play.
And it's damn hard. I'm playign in the first NG, after the end so I'm ready to go to NG+ but want to do it after beating the extensions. However this boss is hardcore I believe until I can play with humans.
The rest of the extension was cool because of the level design very smart. There is one fire I couldn't find, maybe it's behind that boss.

I think I will start the other extensions, today.

User avatar
cybereality
Hobgoblin
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:40 pm
x 12

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by cybereality »

After 28 hours of play, I've beaten Assassin's Creed 2. I loved the game but, by the end, I just wanted to finish it and be done.

Next up I want to try out Child of Light. Should in interesting to play a 2D game in triple-head G-Sync.

Also, looks like Shadowrun: Dragonfall is still on sale for $6. No joke, this is the best game ever made. You guys should give it a shot.

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

I beat the hard DS2 extension boss. Then I got to the second extension. This is awesome.

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

I got the 3 DS2 expansions but have only played part way through the first one so far. I need to get back into the mood for it.

The thing that annoys me the most about Elite Dangerous is the ETA display. It tells you the estimated time of arrival to your target location. But it calculates the estimate based on current velocity, it doesn't take acceleration into account. That would be ok for manual piloting, but when the automatic acceleration feature is enabled, it means you sit at 5-6 seconds to target for over a minute sometimes. I'm not OCD, but that's like fingernails down a blackboard to me. It makes the game feel even slower, like time is slowing down.

Why is the jump point target for every system just seconds away from overheating due to star proximity? It looks cool to see the star come flying at you as you exit the jump, but it's dangerous. If you start a jump then look away (get a drink or something) you'll burn up. The previous games put you far from the star (I think Elite 2 put you outside of the solar system).

Why is an autopilot a physical thing that takes up a slot in the ship? Shouldn't it be software?

Why are most bulletin board missions evil? It seems half the stations I visit want traders murdered or illegal things brought in (black boxes, stolen goods, slaves, etc). It's like the only part of the internet that survived into the future is the silk road. Where's all the cat pictures?

Playing Elite Dangerous just makes me wish for Independence War 3 even more. IWar 2 was a sandbox piracy space sim but still had an interesting linear story with unique missions, actual characters and cutscenes. Updating it to modern standards would be such an awesome game.

Sigh... back I go. I need over 6000000 to get an Asp, it seems like an interesting ship. Going to take a lot of bounties.

User avatar
Klaim
Old One
Posts: 2565
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:04 am
Location: Paris, France
x 56
Contact:

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Klaim »

Kojack wrote:I got the 3 DS2 expansions but have only played part way through the first one so far. I need to get back into the mood for it.
I think it should help me wait for Bloodporn....I mean Bloodborne. :twisted:

User avatar
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 7153
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:35 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
x 519

Re: What game are you playing now?

Post by Kojack »

cybereality wrote:Next up I want to try out Child of Light. Should in interesting to play a 2D game in triple-head G-Sync.
If you haven't already, give Torchlight 2 a try. It worked well on my triple monitor setup (only 5040x1050, but still...). Enemy visibility didn't really like being off the main monitor, but the gui handled it perfectly (stats panel and inventory panel were about 5 feet apart in real life).
cybereality wrote:Also, looks like Shadowrun: Dragonfall is still on sale for $6. No joke, this is the best game ever made. You guys should give it a shot.
I still need to try this. I bought it based on your previous recommendation.

Now I've got a bunch of other games to play too, I didn't buy anything for myself in the steam sale yet, but I got something for almost everyone in my steam friends list (only skipped a couple who aren't using steam anymore, so would be a waste) and now they are repaying me.

Post Reply