Argh!

A place for Ogre users to discuss non-Ogre subjects with friends from the community.
Kojack
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator

Argh!

Post by Kojack »

If I have one more non programming student say to me "our game would be finished already if we used unity instead of ogre" I'm going to snap. :shock:

Especially when their reasons include that ogre has no terrain system or any kind of scene editor.
(Then when I show them ogre's terrain demo running they say "that's not an ogre program, you are running unity")
*sigh*

Anybody else got some quick rants they want to vent? (not just about unity or education, anything is valid)
cybereality
Hobgoblin

Re: Argh!

Post by cybereality »

Ha! With me it would be if one more person asks when their developer kit it going to ship. AaaAAaA!!!!!!!!!
shadowfeign
Goblin

Post by shadowfeign »

When I was in school, I remember the game art students having to take a simple programming class(I was an animation student). The class used some form of basic that supported 3d. It always sounded like such a waste of time(it probably was), and I always felt that if they really needed a bit of programming knowledge under their belt to better communicate or understand programmers in their future teams, it would make more sense to learn maxcript or mel(or i'll add python to the list now, though didn't know anything about it back then), something they could directly use to improve their art. Looking back now, I realize the class could have(though probably didn't) helped teach a lot of things like batch count, submeshes, rigging for games, dealing with multiple uv coordinates, help understand that max and maya do a lot under the hood to make things seem one way, even though they are really not true. Like combining multiple vertices into a single one for ease of use. oh, unit vs scale would be a good topic. Actually, I remember doing an internship where we had one team member think he was reducing poly count by combining the faces in edit poly m