What happend with Ogre?

A place for Ogre users to discuss non-Ogre subjects with friends from the community.
lonewolff
Ogre Magi

What happend with Ogre?

Post by lonewolff »

Hey guys,

I started playing with Ogre back in late 2005. The forums were always packed and had a great welcoming atmosphere.

Since coming back recently, things seem extremely quiet. There seems to be less than half a dozen regular's now.

Those that are still here are still friendly and eager to help, but it is very quiet.

So what happened? :?

Is it the growth of the other major engines - like Unity, CryEngine, and Unreal Engine, that have had an impact on Ogre? Did people flee when Steve Streeting hung up his hat? Or has the times 'just changed'?

Apart from dabbling a little in DirectX now and then, Ogre has always been the 'go to' for me when it comes to 3D rendering. Never even tried the alternatives. 8)
Klaim
Old One

Re: What happend with Ogre?

Post by Klaim »

Well first Unity is one obvious reason, then there is a lot of people going 2D so they use SDL, SFML, Cocos2DX, OpenFrameworks, and other tools...

Ogre become useful only if you need a very flexible graphic system and the ones in the game engines are not flexible enough for your case.

So I guess it's normal. Maybe there will be more people with Ogre 2.x releases but I think it would be far far more popular if it was easier to setup/manipulate.
TheSHEEEP
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member

Post by TheSHEEEP »

^ What he said.

It is not really surprising.
My site! - Have a look :)
Also on Twitter - extra fluffy
al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User

Post by al2950 »