Setting API Version?

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
Post Reply
megapunchself
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:34 am

Setting API Version?

Post by megapunchself » Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:49 am

Ogre Version: 2.1
Operating System: Windows 8.1
Render System: CodeBlocks/MingW/OpenGL

im starting with ogre3d today, i'll use the 2.1 cause is gpu bound and-
how can i set opengl version? this is possible? for example, if i want to use 2.1 instead 3.3, or even 1.4! Can i do this? (1.4 is preference, just cause low-med pc)

thx
0 x

User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3706
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 120
Contact:

Re: Setting API Version?

Post by dark_sylinc » Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:39 am

Ogre 2.1 requires at least GL 3.3 + a few extensions. If minimum requirements are met, Ogre will automatically adjust its GL context and features used to take advantage of the latest improvements supported.

If the minimum requirements are not met, then Ogre 2.1 won't be able to run.

Cheers
0 x

megapunchself
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:34 am

Re: Setting API Version?

Post by megapunchself » Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:58 pm

I don't understand much about it but, what about CPU Bound? How does this affect CPU usage and lifetime? Is it possible to use hardware acceleration or streaming (texture,etc) to save usage?
0 x

zvd2
Gnoblar
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:05 pm
x 3

Re: Setting API Version?

Post by zvd2 » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:23 pm

I'd recommend just using an older Ogre version or getting a new GPU, but if you insist on neither of those there's also the option of using Mesa's software rasterizer. It's almost always prohibitively slow but technically an option. Here's a Windows build: github.com/pal1000/mesa-dist-win/
0 x

User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3706
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 120
Contact:

Re: Setting API Version?

Post by dark_sylinc » Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:43 pm

What GPU do you have? You wrote you're using Windows 8, and if so then the vast majority of GPUs that do not work with Ogre also do not work in Windows 8 due to lack of drivers (unless you're running in the slow VESA mode), which I find odd.
0 x

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 572
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 83
Contact:

Re: Setting API Version?

Post by paroj » Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:19 pm

megapunchself wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:58 pm
I don't understand much about it but, what about CPU Bound?
both Ogre 1.x and 2.x are hardware accelerated in that they use your GPU for rendering. However if you would render enough objects to hit a performance limit, in 1.x it would be your CPU submitting the objects to the GPU. 2.x is more efficient in this regard. Here submission is negligible and your GPU would limit how much you can render. Also this limit is an order of magnitude higher than with 1.x.
0 x

megapunchself
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:34 am

Re: Setting API Version?

Post by megapunchself » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:44 am

dark_sylinc wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 4:43 pm
What GPU do you have? You wrote you're using Windows 8, and if so then the vast majority of GPUs that do not work with Ogre also do not work in Windows 8 due to lack of drivers (unless you're running in the slow VESA mode), which I find odd.
My intention was to make it possible for even old computer players to play the game, even though I have to sacrifice the ease of using shaders, etc.
But reading this, I think it's better to forget ;-;
paroj wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 10:19 pm
megapunchself wrote:
Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:58 pm
I don't understand much about it but, what about CPU Bound?
both Ogre 1.x and 2.x are hardware accelerated in that they use your GPU for rendering. However if you would render enough objects to hit a performance limit, in 1.x it would be your CPU submitting the objects to the GPU. 2.x is more efficient in this regard. Here submission is negligible and your GPU would limit how much you can render. Also this limit is an order of magnitude higher than with 1.x.
Oh, im understanding now. Thanks :)
0 x

Post Reply