Building Ogre 2.1

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
Post Reply
BamboCake
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:19 am

Building Ogre 2.1

Post by BamboCake » Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:31 am

Ogre Version: 2.1
Operating System: Windows 10 (64 bit)

Hi, following this manual (https://ogrecave.github.io/ogre/api/2.1 ... ndows.html),

I used

Code: Select all

hg clone https://bitbucket.org/cabalistic/ogredeps Dependencies
with TortoiseHg 4.9.0 (64 bit), which gave me following output

Code: Select all

applying clone bundle from https://api.media.atlassian.com/file/b8c13b1d-b76a-41e4-8862-d766ce1cee28/binary?client=61f27da2-5eeb-4c43-97ed-e436bfbcf5de&token=eyJhbGciOiJIU...
adding changesets
adding manifests
adding file changes
added 132 changesets with 4769 changes to 1878 files (+2 heads)
finished applying clone bundle
searching for changes
adding changesets
adding manifests
adding file changes
added 1 changesets with 2 changes to 2 files
new changesets 019e46bf5ce0
131 local changesets published
updating to branch default
and this error:

Code: Select all

abort: subrepo path contains illegal component: src/SDL2
I tried to be continue anyway, but when the CMake configuration then throws the error (as to be expected):

Code: Select all

No download info given for 'SDL2' and its source directory:
I'd be very happy if anyone could help me with this.
0 x

Sweenie
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 3:29 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Building Ogre 2.1

Post by Sweenie » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:27 am

Might be related to this https://bitbucket.org/tortoisehg/thg/is ... -component

Try using Tortoise HG 4.8.2(previous version) and see if that makes a difference. I just did a clone of the Ogre deps without any issues using ver 4.8.2.
0 x

BamboCake
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Building Ogre 2.1

Post by BamboCake » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:01 pm

Thank you for the fast response.

It worked, but unfortunately I've got another error: "the connection failed because the remote service didn't respond or the connection was corrupt because the connect host wasn't responding". My command prompt is rigorously refusing to change the display language, so I can't tell you the exact wording of this error in English.

This happens every time, es, but I have a very stable internet connection. I also deactivated my firewall out of desperation, but no luck. Any idea how I could get this to work?
0 x

User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3960
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 175
Contact:

Re: Building Ogre 2.1

Post by dark_sylinc » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:03 pm

If the previous (newer and buggy) version of TortoiseHg managed to clone some parts of the repository, it's possible that is causing problems now.

Try deleting the folder in where it was cloned; and start again. Other than that I'm clueless.
0 x

BamboCake
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Building Ogre 2.1

Post by BamboCake » Mon Mar 11, 2019 10:40 pm

Oh, I already tried that, but thank you. I'm really struggling to get this working on Windows, I'm used to packages on Linux. I've already tried several other ways (using binaries, or trying Ogre 1), but I've always ran into problems.

Does someone have experience with what the "easiest" course of action would be? I don't expect a whole explanation, I know there are enough tutorials around and I'm already embarrassed that I'm struggling with this, but maybe someone could hint me in the right direction? Like the most fool-proof way, that works in most cases
0 x

User avatar
dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 3960
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 175
Contact:

Re: Building Ogre 2.1

Post by dark_sylinc » Tue Mar 12, 2019 1:12 am

Well, I never heard of problems with a simple command such as
"hg clone https://bitbucket.org/cabalistic/ogredeps Dependencies"

I'm afraid it looks like a simple but unfortunate tool bug.

If you're on Linux, you can build the Linux version with this script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
mkdir Test
cd Test
mkdir ogredeps
echo "--- Cloning Ogredeps ---"
hg clone https://bitbucket.org/cabalistic/ogredeps ogredeps
cd ogredeps
mkdir build
cd build
cmake -G Ninja ..
echo "--- Building Ogredeps ---"
ninja
ninja install
cd ../../
mkdir ogre
echo "--- Cloning Ogre 2.1 ---"
hg clone https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre -r v2-1 ogre
cd ogre
ln -s ../ogredeps/build/ogredeps Dependencies
mkdir -p build/Debug
mkdir -p build/Release
cd build/Debug
echo "--- Building Ogre (Debug) ---"
cmake -D OGRE_USE_BOOST=0 -D OGRE_CONFIG_THREAD_PROVIDER=0 -D OGRE_CONFIG_THREADS=0 -D OGRE_BUILD_COMPONENT_SCENE_FORMAT=1 -D OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES2=1 -D OGRE_BUILD_TESTS=0 -D CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE="Debug" -G Ninja ../..
ninja
cd ../Release
echo "--- Building Ogre (Release) ---"
cmake -D OGRE_USE_BOOST=0 -D OGRE_CONFIG_THREAD_PROVIDER=0 -D OGRE_CONFIG_THREADS=0 -D OGRE_BUILD_COMPONENT_SCENE_FORMAT=1 -D OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES2=1 -D OGRE_BUILD_TESTS=0 -D CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE="Release" -G Ninja ../..
ninja

echo "Done!"
It will clone dependencies and Ogre, and build Ogre 2.1.
For example in Ubuntu you would do (assuming the script is named buildogre.sh):

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libfreetype6-dev libfreeimage-dev libzzip-dev libxrandr-dev libxaw7-dev freeglut3-dev libgl1-mesa-dev libglu1-mesa-dev doxygen graphviz python-clang-4.0
sh buildogre.sh
0 x

BamboCake
Gnoblar
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:19 am

Re: Building Ogre 2.1

Post by BamboCake » Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:46 pm

Building Ogre on Linux worked out great, I could get the example project to run. Thank you for your help, can't wait to play around with the engine!
0 x

Post Reply