Unable to set up ogre project Topic is solved

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
Post Reply
Jackie365
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:10 am

Unable to set up ogre project

Post by Jackie365 »

Ogre Version: 1.12.8 Taken directly from Github master branch
Operating System: Windows 7

Hi, I've been trying this for several days, but I can't get it working. All I do is to follow the instructions from wiki.

Compiling OGRE from source is straight forward and now I have the default sdk folder containing the build output.

But Setting up my first OGRE project encounters a problem: "Component Bites is required but not found". When I was compiling OGRE, no error popped up and I left all the config options unchanged, and there's no option mentioned component Bites in cmake-gui(others like RTShaderSystem and Volume are there).

So did I do anything wrong???

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 432
Contact:

Re: Unable to set up ogre project

Post by paroj »

check that the Bites component is active, when building the SDK. Check the log for:

Code: Select all

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
  FEATURE SUMMARY
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Building components:
  + Bites
  ...
  + Overlay
  ...
  + RTShader System
as bites depends on both Overlay and RTSS

Jackie365
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:10 am

Re: Unable to set up ogre project

Post by Jackie365 »

Using cmake-gui, I can only see ten OGRE_BUILD_COMPONENT_XXXXX
They are CSHARP, HLMS, JAVA, MESHLODENERATOR, PAGING, PROPERTY, PYTHON, RTSHADERSYSTEM, TERRAIN and VOLUME
and six out of ten are checked by default。
No Bites and Overlay are found

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 432
Contact:

Re: Unable to set up ogre project

Post by paroj »

Jackie365 wrote:
Wed Jul 29, 2020 12:30 pm
Using cmake-gui, I can only see ten OGRE_BUILD_COMPONENT_XXXXX
...
No Bites and Overlay are found
check the output once you hit "Configure". Probably Overlay is not built due to missing freetype.

Jackie365
Gnoblar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:10 am

Re: Unable to set up ogre project

Post by Jackie365 »

Thank you so much!I checked the output carefully and saw that freetype is not built due to the missing CMakeLists.txt

Building freetype
cmake -E tar: error:
truncated gzip input

CMake Error: The source directory "C:/Users/Administrator/Desktop/ogre-build-1/freetype-2.10.1" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt.

So Overlay and Bites are not built
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
FEATURE SUMMARY
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Building components:
+ MeshLodGenerator
+ Paging
+ Property
+ RTShader System
+ RTShader System Shaders
+ Terrain
+ Volume

The Wiki says that OGRE will compile the dependencies itself by default. So is there a problem in the freetype contained in the OGRE source??
Everything should work well if I provide the freetype dependency.

paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 432
Contact:

Re: Unable to set up ogre project

Post by paroj »

ogre will download and build the dependencies, when you hit "Configure".

Code: Select all

Building freetype
cmake -E tar: error:
truncated gzip input
this indicates, that the downloaded freetype tar.gz is corrupted.

Post Reply