Same shader source for OpenGL and DirectX11 mode

Problems building or running the engine, queries about how to use features etc.
sasmaster
Gnoblar

Same shader source for OpenGL and DirectX11 mode

Post by sasmaster »

Ogre Version: 1.2 :?:
Operating System: Windows 10 :?:
Render System:OpenGL/DirectX 11 :?:

Hi Ogre devs. I am working on an app where I implement PBR shading. I used GLTF2 example provided by the Ogre Samples.
It works fine in OpenGL mode. Now I tried to switch to DirectX11 ,getting white surface and Ogre spits the following warning:
Ogre: Warning: material glTF2/PBR has no supportable Techniques and will be blank. Explanation:
Pass 0: fragment program glTF2/PBR_fs cannot be used - compile error.
Now, I am new to Ogre material ecosystem,but I skimmed through the setup of the PBR sample's pbr.program and it seems like
the same vertex/fragment shader source files are supposed to be used both for GLSL and for HLSL:

Code: Select all

vertex_program glTF2/PBR_vs hlsl glsl glsles
{
	source pbr-vert.glsl
    preprocessor_defines HAS_NORMALS,HAS_TANGENTS,HAS_UV
}

fragment_program glTF2/PBR_fs_glsl glsl
{
	source pbr-frag.glsl
    preprocessor_defines MANUAL_SRGB,SRGB_FAST_APPROXIMATION,HAS_NORMALS,HAS_TANGENTS,HAS_BASECOLORMAP,HAS_NORMALMAP,HAS_EMISSIVEMAP,HAS_METALROUGHNESSMAP,HAS_OCCLUSIONMAP,USE_IBL,USE_TEX_LOD
}

fragment_program glTF2/PBR_fs_hlsl hlsl glsles
{
	source pbr-frag.glsl
	target ps_2_a
    preprocessor_defines MANUAL_SRGB,SRGB_FAST_APPROXIMATION,HAS_NORMALS,HAS_TANGENTS,HAS_BASECOLORMAP,HAS_NORMALMAP,HAS_EMISSIVEMAP,HAS_METALROUGHNESSMAP,HAS_OCCLUSIONMAP,USE_IBL
}

fragment_program glTF2/PBR_fs unified
{
	delegate glTF2/PBR_fs_glsl
	delegate glTF2/PBR_fs_hlsl
}
I ran through the official docs and haven't found any example like this.
Here https://ogrecave.github.io/ogre/api/1.1 ... grams.html
it looks like each fragment_program uses different source file, hlsl or glsl. On the other hand, the GLSL code in GLTF2/PBR sample doesn't look