Why write out Documents/ogre.cfg? (and others)

Discussion of issues specific to mobile platforms such as iOS, Android, Symbian and Meego.
cadabra
Gnoblar

Why write out Documents/ogre.cfg? (and others)

Post by cadabra »

I'm on the 1.7.1 branch, with a project based on the Xcode template. I've spent some time confused about why a newly created RenderWindow was always using 768x1024, even though I had removed the line from ogre.cfg, I was switching between the iPhone and iPad simulators, and UIScreen was reporting the correct values. I built a Debug Ogre and stepped through it, only to realize that the first time I had launched the template it had squirreled away my ogre.cfg into my.app/../Documents/ogre.cfg and was restoring it from showConfigDialog() instead of using the UIScreen dimensions. Why does Ogre-iOS store the configuration in the first place? There's no user interaction during showConfigDialog(). Is there a purpose to this that I'm not aware of (I'm new to Ogre)? Can I safely remove the call to showConfigDialog() on iOS or otherwise prevent this behavior?

Would it make sense to remove the Video Mode line from the default template in the future so that it'll work on both iPhone and iPad?

Other notes:

- The template should use (!NSClassFromString(@"CADisplayLink")) to check if CADisplayLink is supported instead of checking the system version.
- I tried downloading the binary Ogre iPhone SDK, but it wouldn't run in the latest simulator (4.1). Was Ogre built with the 3.0 SDK? In iOS 3.2, Apple changed the simulator ABI and broke a lot of static libraries. In general, Apple recommends that people always build with the latest SDK, but set their deployment target to the lowest version they want to support.