Why using RTShader system with Android 2.3.3

Discussion of issues specific to mobile platforms such as iOS, Android, Symbian and Meego.
Post Reply
mazataza
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:45 am

Why using RTShader system with Android 2.3.3

Post by mazataza » Fri Feb 28, 2014 10:02 am

I am new to 3D world and Ogre3d. thus please don't expect a profi :-)
I have download Ogre 1.9 Android SDK and run GLES1 demo on my Samsung Galaxy S without any problem.
running the GLES2 demo I got a red background and the sindbad model it seems corrupted. it display as a ghost or a shadaw which you can't identify anything only there is something in the screen.
My question is it a problem with my device it couldn't run the shader scripts?
and in basic tutorial in ogre they didn't use Shader at all but why we should use it with GLES2?
because when disable Shader and didn't using RTSS I got only a red background.
0 x

User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines

Re: Why using RTShader system with Android 2.3.3

Post by c6burns » Fri Feb 28, 2014 1:06 pm

GLES2 requires that every object in your scene have an associated shader. So you can either use RTSS, or you can create your own materials with attached shaders. Otherwise you won't see anything in the scene.

Also the red background is normal. The sinbad model not looking correct is not normal.
0 x

mazataza
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Why using RTShader system with Android 2.3.3

Post by mazataza » Fri Feb 28, 2014 11:08 pm

I tested also the GLES2 sample on my samsung galax tab 2 10.1 which run android 4.2 and got the same result.
0 x

User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines

Re: Why using RTShader system with Android 2.3.3

Post by c6burns » Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:03 am

A lot has happened since April 2013. Might not be a bad idea to build v1-9 head
0 x

mazataza
Gnoblar
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:45 am

Re: Why using RTShader system with Android 2.3.3

Post by mazataza » Sat Mar 01, 2014 9:29 am

you are right I build a fresh build of the head and use it for demo and every thing work well now.
thanks
0 x

Post Reply