[RFC] SceneManager refactor

Discussion area about developing with Ogre2 branches (2.1, 2.2 and beyond)
shuff
Gnoblar

[RFC] SceneManager refactor

Post by shuff » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:10 pm

I’m curious if any effort is underway yet to refactor the scene manager. I’ve been watching commits but haven’t noticed anything to note in this respect. I’ve spent a significant number of hours over the last couple months learning Ogre and factoring the scene manager out into a separate component on my own just so I could use the rest of the system and possibly work out one or more different approaches to a different scene manager without tripping over the existing one. I'm new to Ogre so this was a great way to really dig in and understand the code base even if it's otherwise all for not. I'm impressed with the sheer amount of functionality available and the cleanliness of the architecture despite the age.