Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Discussion area about developing with Ogre-Next (2.1, 2.2 and beyond)


frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 65

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by frostbyte »

sleep time for me...probably some mix with msvc/ogre configuration....i'll find my way ...
thanks anyway... :)
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos
User avatar
icaro56
Greenskin
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG, BRA
x 1

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by icaro56 »

Could you help me with error in CMake?

Code: Select all

CMake Error at D:/Visual_Projects/engine/dependences/qt/lib/cmake/Qt5Gui/Qt5GuiConfigExtras.cmake:16 (message):
  Failed to find "glu32" in "".
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  D:/Visual_Projects/engine/dependences/qt/lib/cmake/Qt5Gui/Qt5GuiConfigExtras.cmake:50 (_qt5gui_find_extra_libs)
  D:/Visual_Projects/engine/dependences/qt/lib/cmake/Qt5Gui/Qt5GuiConfig.cmake:127 (include)
  D:/Visual_Projects/engine/dependences/qt/lib/cmake/Qt5Widgets/Qt5WidgetsConfig.cmake:83 (find_package)
  GenericTextEditor/CMakeLists.txt:17 (find_package)
It happens when try to compile as Ogitor as Ogitor v2.
Ícaro Motta
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

What platform are you using? If windows, open CMAKE GUI, point the source directory and decide a build directory (somewhere else). Hit configure then hit Generate.

Also before running CMake, do not forget to set CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH as described in QT Documentation, for example mine is:

something like : My Computer->Advanced->Environment Variables
CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH
C:\Qt_540\5.4\msvc2010_opengl\
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
icaro56
Greenskin
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG, BRA
x 1

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by icaro56 »

This error happens in configure pass.

I will have compile QT again. My QT haven't this opengl folder.
Ícaro Motta
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

Compile QT?? Why? Just download and install the one that is suitable for your compiler...
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

http://www.qt.io/download-open-source/# for prebuilt QT libraries...

Go down the page to "View All Downloads" -> OFFLINE INSTALLERS, Windows Host topic. There pick the one that is suitable for your compiler...
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
icaro56
Greenskin
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG, BRA
x 1

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by icaro56 »

My Visual Studio is 2012 and the version of Qt Project is only win32.

In my projects I needed the version x64. Is Ogitor using the version win32?
Ícaro Motta
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

I compile Ogitor as 32bit and jacmoe compiles it 64bit so Ogitor works on both...

try setting CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH to where Qt's "bin" "lib" etc directories are, probably in your case it is "D:/Visual_Projects/engine/dependences/qt/"
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

There are also pre-compiled Qt binaries at http://tver-soft.org/qt64 but i never tried it...
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by jacmoe »

I haven't bothered to build Qt in a long time - download it here: http://www.qt.io/download-open-source/#
I can recommend the online installer because it enables you to have more than one version of Qt installed, but the offline installers works great.
I am using 64bit.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by jacmoe »

Ok, I see your problem. Why don't you upgrade to vs2013, then?
There is no reason to be using 2012 because 2013 is both faster and supports c++11 better.
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
Zonder
Ogre Magi
Posts: 1168
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:51 pm
Location: Manchester - England
x 73

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by Zonder »

jacmoe wrote:Ok, I see your problem. Why don't you upgrade to vs2013, then?
There is no reason to be using 2012 because 2013 is both faster and supports c++11 better.
You can still keep your copy of 2012 if you need it for some reason they can side by side install I have 2010, 2012 and 2013 installed.
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't...
User avatar
icaro56
Greenskin
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG, BRA
x 1

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by icaro56 »

Physx dlls are generate until Visual Studio 2012 in Physx SDK.

I will go to install Visual Studio 2013. If it is more faster than 2012.

Thank you.


I'm sorry by my nuisance. Now, there is a problem with IrrKlang. In the Dependencies->IrrKlang project the error:

Code: Select all

Error	1	error MSB6006: "cmd.exe" exited with code 1.	C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets	172
log

Code: Select all

1>------ Build started: Project: IrrKlang, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
1>  Creating directories for 'IrrKlang'
1>  Copying IrrKlang DLL...
1>  Error copying file "D:/Visual_Projects/ogitor_v2_build/Dependencies/IrrKlang/bin/winx64-visualStudio/irrKlang.dll" to "D:/Visual_Projects/ogitor_v2_build/RunPath/bin/irrKlang.dll".
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V110\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(172,5): error MSB6006: "cmd.exe" exited with code 1.
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
This folder IrrKlang doen't exist.
Ícaro Motta
frostbyte
Orc Shaman
Posts: 737
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 2:28 am
x 65

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by frostbyte »

Error copying file "D:/Visual_Projects/ogitor_v2_build/Dependencies/IrrKlang/bin/winx64-visualStudio/irrKlang.dll" to "D:/Visual_Projects/ogitor_v2_build/RunPath/bin/irrKlang.dll"
just download irrklang from offical website...unzip... change dir name to irrKlang and copy it to D:/Visual_Projects/ogitor_v2_build/Dependencies/

oh...and i think ogitor is using bullet, not physx...
the woods are lovely dark and deep
but i have promises to keep
and miles to code before i sleep
and miles to code before i sleep..

coolest videos link( two minutes paper )...
https://www.youtube.com/user/keeroyz/videos
User avatar
icaro56
Greenskin
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 2:03 am
Location: Belo Horizonte, MG, BRA
x 1

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by icaro56 »

Ogitor uses bullet.

I was trying to use the same environment to ogitor repository and my repository that uses physx.


Thanks. It works.
Ícaro Motta
hydexon
Gremlin
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 8:51 pm
x 10

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by hydexon »

@Stealth777, i have a few inquiries about the adoption of the "Multi-threaded System" is excellent and using it in my game engine and i found many flaws in his design.
Intel's Smoke Demo has some Criticism because from the beginning of the design has some flaws, and researched a bit more. i explored the source and has his flaws, for my engine deleted the Windows-specific taskmanager (TaskManagerTP) and kept the TBB one, but still uses Semaphore and CreateEvent from Win32 API which i want to get rid of without writting platform specific code, i replaced SpinWait and SpinWait::Lock with TBB's Spin_Mutex and ScopedLock which proves is a bit more portable.

And i'm very glad of Ogitor uses Bullet instead of PhysX, for me PhysX gives me nothing than problems, i know is good for the AAA industry but the game inherits his PhysX problems like: Forced driver installation, bugs, low performance in non-NVIDIA cards (why i'm not surprised?) meanwhile Bullet is GPU-Manufacturer independient (i guess so), i don't need to install any additional driver, and with the upcoming Bullet 3.x with OpenCL support, will more better too.

About the sound engine, there's one called YSE originally using JUCE Toolkit but later removed, i think uses C++11 features, has many features for Audio Designers and games, like Multi-threading, and the most interesant of everything (for me): Sound Occlusion, it's EPL (Eclipse Public License) licensed.
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

My latest Stress Test with 1024 Objects...

[youtube]H6-1gltD47g[/youtube]

In this scene there are 1024 objects each controlled by 1024 script controllers, to make them move continuously each frame and making sound when they reach their predefined edge. Also all of them have collision shapes defined and processed by the physics engine...

I currently get 90+ fps with profiling turned on (which has quite a big impact on speed due to multithread profiling protecting against concurrent profiling data updates)

Sample Profiling Data:

Code: Select all

PROFILER UPDATE:  94 frames in 1.0 seconds
Total Tick Ratio: 640.3154 on 8 HTs
Internal Usage  : 43.9 - 71768172 ticks per frame
Geometry System : 0.0
Graphics System : 7.2
Physics System  : 0.5
Scripting System: 48.4
Input System    : 0.0
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
Zonder
Ogre Magi
Posts: 1168
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:51 pm
Location: Manchester - England
x 73

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by Zonder »

nice
There are 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't...
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

Currently we are changing Object Properties Window to be more useful. New design will be showing Vector and Quaternion types as single line and will also have both object specific and component specific buttons, toolbars, icons right inside the properties window. It will look like (using DarkSkin skin mode & toolbars and advanced views are not implemented yet) :
new_propertiesview.png
It will also display Sliders for values that have a predefined max/min range and will be able to set Quaternions using Euclid transforms...
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
Wolfmanfx
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 1525
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: Austria - Leoben
x 99
Contact:

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by Wolfmanfx »

Cok guezel :)

I like it
User avatar
boyamer
Orc
Posts: 459
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:16 am
Location: Italy
x 6

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by boyamer »

Very good news, saw your progress, neat stuff you're doing, the only one think I don't really like is the LGPL license, but that will be fine for almost of the users.
User avatar
stealth977
Gnoll
Posts: 638
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 6:14 pm
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
x 42

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by stealth977 »

LGPL is a temporary situation since we havent officially made it public yet. Some parts of it will definitely go MIT, but some parts may or may not...
Ismail TARIM
Ogitor - Ogre Scene Editor
WWW:http://www.ogitor.org
Repository: https://bitbucket.org/ogitor
User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines
x 138

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by c6burns »

I would have absolutely no issue with LGPL if there weren't issues with static linking. Some platforms (like mobile devices) you are really going to want to static link, but my understanding is that it is a violation of the LGPL to do that and not license the entire work under LGPL. Whereas dynamic linking is fine, which just seems like a ridiculous distinction to me.

My understanding of the intent of the LGPL is to allow commercial use while still maintaining reciprocity of source code, and I agree with the spirit of that, but the technicalities hurt me.

Anyway just my 2 cents :)

EDIT: anyway editor parts under LGPL I think is fine, because dynamic linking on platforms where the editor part will run (win/mac/*nix) is not a problem, but its not my code so its not my decision ... just being nosey!
User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by jacmoe »

LGPL would be a good fit for the editor framework, simply because it means that we can statically link to Qt if we choose to do so. But, as Stealth977 says: everything is wet paint at the moment. ;)
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.
User avatar
c6burns
Beholder
Posts: 1512
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 4:44 am
Location: Deep behind enemy lines
x 138

Re: Ogitor for OGRE 2.0

Post by c6burns »

Oh wait I just remembered ... it's not that statically linking an LGPL lib means the combined work must be LGPL. It's that you must provide everything necessary for end users to be able to re-link the application. So any license would be fine, but closed commercial source cannot statically link an LGPL library. This is where my problem with the LGPL lies, in terms of it being applied to code I want to use in my application's runtime. I might release all of my work under MIT in the end, but I would prefer not to be shoehorned into that just because I had to static link some tiny LGPL library for a mobile platform.

Not that I forsee Ogitor causing this to be a problem, just venting about LGPL in general. I have faith in the sensibility of Ogitor's creators :)
Post Reply