Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
-
- Gnome
- Posts: 379
- Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
- x 10
Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
Hello all,
We want to start a new project and use OGRE 2.1. We have used before 1.7,1.8,1.9 but we know there is a big difference.
While 2.1 is not "officially" stable, I think the direction is what matters.
Is there a document that provides information about "How to get OGRE 2.1, build Ogre 2.1 from source" ?
Thanks
We want to start a new project and use OGRE 2.1. We have used before 1.7,1.8,1.9 but we know there is a big difference.
While 2.1 is not "officially" stable, I think the direction is what matters.
Is there a document that provides information about "How to get OGRE 2.1, build Ogre 2.1 from source" ?
Thanks
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 122
- Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:44 pm
- Location: Russia,Moscow
- x 1
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
i can share my note...but is written on russian+"for me"
Compiled under ubuntu
Compiled under ubuntu
-
- Gnome
- Posts: 379
- Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:54 pm
- x 10
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
Thanks,
I can always translate into english but I don't know if the automatic translation would be helpful. Ideally, I'm looking for a Windows build but anything will work.
Thanks
I can always translate into english but I don't know if the automatic translation would be helpful. Ideally, I'm looking for a Windows build but anything will work.
Thanks
-
- OGRE Team Member
- Posts: 5490
- Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 4:55 pm
- Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
- x 1361
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
The instructions are the same as in 1.x
The only addition is that if you want the samples (which you probably do) you need to turn on OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES2 (the old OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES contains the old samples which don't work)
If you're on windows you'll have to setup SDL2 paths manually on CMake so these samples can work.
Download and compile SDL2.
For example my setup is:
"G:\SDK\SDL2\" is where I unpacked the SDL2 source code and compiled it (solution files for compiling with Visual Studio are in G:\SDK\SDL2\VisualC).
EDIT: Also don't play with the CMake options too much. First get it running with the default settings. Once you got it, you can start tweaking it (just in case you bump into a broken one or an invalid combination, etc)
The only addition is that if you want the samples (which you probably do) you need to turn on OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES2 (the old OGRE_BUILD_SAMPLES contains the old samples which don't work)
If you're on windows you'll have to setup SDL2 paths manually on CMake so these samples can work.
Download and compile SDL2.
For example my setup is:
Code: Select all
SDL2MAIN_LIBRARY G:\SDK\SDL2\VisualC\Win32\Debug\SDL2.lib
SDL2_INCLUDE_DIR G:\SDK\SDL2\include
SDL2_LIBRARY G:\SDK\SDL2\VisualC\Win32\Debug\SDL2.lib
EDIT: Also don't play with the CMake options too much. First get it running with the default settings. Once you got it, you can start tweaking it (just in case you bump into a broken one or an invalid combination, etc)
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 145
- Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:53 pm
- Location: Florianopolis, Brazil
- x 17
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
I'm not sure, but if I recall correctly I kept generating the cmake a few times, always setting the available SDL2 options, and after a few times it managed to find, conifgure and set everything correctly.
I'll try again on Monday and if it actually works I'll share what I find out.
I'll try again on Monday and if it actually works I'll share what I find out.

-
- Gremlin
- Posts: 153
- Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 9:31 am
- Location: Russia
- x 12
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
Since from Windows 8.1 DirectX SDK is includes to Windows SDK, I needed to set variable DXSDK_DIR=c:\Program Files\Windows Kits\8.1\ in order to build SDL library.
-
- Orc
- Posts: 459
- Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:16 am
- Location: Italy
- x 6
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
Ok,
I've managed to setup CMake build, the dependencies are the same?
I've managed to setup CMake build, the dependencies are the same?
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 122
- Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:44 pm
- Location: Russia,Moscow
- x 1
-
- Greenskin
- Posts: 122
- Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 6:44 pm
- Location: Russia,Moscow
- x 1
Re: Instructions on how to build OGRE 2.1
yesboyamer wrote:Ok,
I've managed to setup CMake build, the dependencies are the same?