Compiling 2.0 Without DirectX

Discussion area about developing with Ogre2 branches (2.1, 2.2 and beyond)
primesoftware
Gnoblar

Compiling 2.0 Without DirectX

Post by primesoftware »

Hi everyone,
I am new to the Ogre community and would like to compile the 2.0 branch for Windows using OpenGL, not DirectX. Is this possible? I've been trying to compile, but I keep getting DirectX errors despite having the paths set. The June2010 DirectX SDK won't install, but I read Windows 7 has it installed already so I pointed to those files. It seems though the newer DirectX isn't using the same API as the old (i.e. looking for error functions / classes) that don't exist.

dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Re: Compiling 2.0 Without DirectX

Post by dark_sylinc »

Hi,

Just untick the RS_D3D9 checkbox in CMake (sorry don't have the exact name now as I'm on the tablet). This will avoid building the D3D9 rendersystem.

To install the June 2010 SDK you need to temporarily remove a KB update, install the SDK, then reinstall that KB update again. See http://blogs.msdn.com/b/chuckw/archive/ ... error.aspx

primesoftware
Gnoblar

Post by primesoftware »

Thanks! I got Ogre to compile without DX, but when trying to run the SampleBrowser.exe on windows I get the following error:

OGRE EXCEPTION(7:InternalErrorException): Could not load dynamic library .\RenderSystem_Direct3D9. System Error: The specified module could not be found. in DynLin::load at \path\to\OgreDynLib.cpp

I assume that is b/c I did not compile DirectX in. I would like to use OpenGL all the way. Is the SampleBrowser.exe only compatible with DirectX?

dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

Post by dark_sylinc »

That error is due to some missconfiguration.

The file "plugins.cfg" (and plugins_d.cfg for debug builds) determine which plugins are loaded.