CameraController class

Discussion area about developing with Ogre-Next (2.1, 2.2 and beyond)

dark_sylinc
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member

CameraController class

Post by dark_sylinc »

I got this question into my inbox, and since it's relevant for the community in general, I'm going to post it here.
(...)
I started learning it from the EmptyProject which is a very nice template project. I write this message to you because I don't know which catergory my question(suggestion) belongs to.

I found that all the public member functions (update, keyPressed, keyReleased, mouseMoved) of CameraController class are not declared as virtual functions. Were they designed not to be overridden?

IMHO, I think there is no harm to put them as virtual functions. For example, if the end user wants to create a third person camera which follows some SceneNode, a convenient way to achieve it is to use the injected functions as the old v1 Ogre Character demo does. But in v2.1, if to use the built-in CameraController, there are no easy ways to do that. But all in all, there is always a way to solve the issue by adding statements to the relevant functions of EmptyProjectGameState class, but that is not very convenient, and codes are not neat.