Option to remove FreeType dependency ?

What it says on the tin: a place to discuss proposed new features.
sebarnolds
Greenskin

Option to remove FreeType dependency ?

Post by sebarnolds » Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:02 am

Hi everybody !

I would like to know if it would be interesting to others to have an option to build Ogre without the FreeType dependency ?

I am considering building Ogre from source when upgrading from 1.4 to 1.6 (I previously used SDK versions) and I don't need FreeType support as I will have my own GUI library with font support. Would it be feasible to add an option to build Ogre without font support (just as it is possible to build it without DevIl or FreeImage and to have to provide our image loaders) ?

I am not asking for someone to do it, I can look at that myself and provide a patch once I managed to do it. However, as I don't really know all the Ogre internals (who does ?) and I am only a beginner with Ogre, I would like to know if it would be feasible without too much hassle and if it would be interesting for other Ogre users.

Thank you forward,
Seb
0 x

Noman
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member

Re: Option to remove FreeType dependency ?

Post by Noman » Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:15 pm

From OgreConfig.h :

Code: Select all

/** Disables use of the FreeImage image library for loading images.
WARNING: Use only when you want to provide your own image loading code via codecs.
*/
#ifndef OGRE_NO_FREEIMAGE
#define OGRE_NO_FREEIMAGE 0
#endif
0 x

sebarnolds
Greenskin

Post by sebarnolds » Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:35 pm

Yeah, I know it is possible to disable FreeImage. I am just asking if it would be feasible and interesting for any other than me to be able to disable FreeType dependency (and disable Ogre fonts).

Seb
0 x

reptor
Ogre Magi

Post by reptor » Sat Feb 07, 2009 6:33 pm