Mock render system

What it says on the tin: a place to discuss proposed new features.
Locked
al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
x 77

Mock render system

Post by al2950 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:31 pm

I know this topic has been mentioned a few times in the past, and I am not sure it really fits under the title of a "Papercut".

However building an engine around Ogre will normally involve some decent testing and often some form of auto build system. Anyway, when testing the logic of your code you do not, or even sometimes cannot, launch a 3D window to do so (I am thinking more Auto build systems). So can I reopen the discussions about creating a mock render system which will still let Ogre run but not need any 3d hardware or drivers.
0 x

User avatar
so0os
Bugbear
Posts: 833
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Poznan, Poland

Re: Mock render system

Post by so0os » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:47 pm

Do you mean Null Renderer? or software rendering?
0 x
Sos Sosowski :)
http://www.sos.gd

User avatar
betajaen
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 3447
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 4:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Mock render system

Post by betajaen » Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:47 pm

Your talking about a NullRenderer. It's been discussed to death for a very long time now and there should be a few threads about various efforts.

It isn't really a paper cut though.
0 x

User avatar
so0os
Bugbear
Posts: 833
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Poznan, Poland

Re: Mock render system

Post by so0os » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:00 pm

betajaen's right, think such renderer would have to do everything that normal renderer does to suffice calls to hardware buffers and such, and it would do it all in CPU too, i bet that would be slower than an actual renderer
0 x
Sos Sosowski :)
http://www.sos.gd

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
x 77

Re: Mock render system

Post by al2950 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:12 pm

Yeah i know its been talked to death before and probably not a papercut! Its just something I need!! :D. As i have not looked at the render systems at all in Ogre, can anyone give me any idea how much effort it would be to create a NULL renderer, ie one that does no 3D calculations but still lets the system run. (NOT a software renderer)?
0 x

User avatar
so0os
Bugbear
Posts: 833
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 7:42 am
Location: Poznan, Poland

Re: Mock render system

Post by so0os » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:20 pm

Dirty hacks ftw!

Code: Select all

ShowWindow(mRenderWindow->getcustomAttribute("WINDOW"),SW_HIDE);
0 x
Sos Sosowski :)
http://www.sos.gd

User avatar
betajaen
OGRE Moderator
OGRE Moderator
Posts: 3447
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 4:15 pm
Location: Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Mock render system

Post by betajaen » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:41 pm

al2950 wrote:Yeah i know its been talked to death before and probably not a papercut! Its just something I need!! :D. As i have not looked at the render systems at all in Ogre, can anyone give me any idea how much effort it would be to create a NULL renderer, ie one that does no 3D calculations but still lets the system run. (NOT a software renderer)?
You'd effectively have to design an Ogre Render System. At least, you'd have to fill out every required function and give an expected result. It's quite complicated which why nobody hasn't written one yet.
0 x

User avatar
syedhs
Silver Sponsor
Silver Sponsor
Posts: 2702
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
x 3

Re: Mock render system

Post by syedhs » Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:59 pm

Actually there were already aquite a few attempts to write a null renderer, you can read about it here. There file there is still download-able, but need some love to port it to at least 1.7.x.
0 x
A willow deeply scarred, somebody's broken heart
And a washed-out dream
They follow the pattern of the wind, ya' see
Cause they got no place to be
That's why I'm starting with me

al2950
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1205
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 7:56 pm
Location: Bristol, UK
x 77

Re: Mock render system

Post by al2950 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:08 pm

@syedhs Thank you very much. I must admit i tried everything apart from "null" renderer when searching the forums :oops:
0 x

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: Mock render system

Post by jacmoe » Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:42 am

If this was a papercut, it would require a **MONSTROUS** pair of scissors! :D

I think someone actually did make mock rendersystem, to be honest.
Can't be [s]arsed[/s] bothered to find the topic right now, but it should be easy enough: search for 'mock' in Using Ogre in Practice. :wink:
0 x
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

User avatar
xavier
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 9481
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:03 am
Location: Dublin, CA, US

Re: Mock render system

Post by xavier » Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:04 am

Moved to Feature Requests (this is *so* NOT a Papercut) and locked.
0 x
Do you need help? What have you tried?

Image

Angels can fly because they take themselves lightly.

Locked