CHC++

Discussion area about developing or extending OGRE, adding plugins for it or building applications on it. No newbie questions please, use the Help forum for that.
jnanadeva
Gnoblar

CHC++

Post by jnanadeva » Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:01 pm

i'm relatively new into ogre, already played around with it one year ago and now i want to go into it seriously. at the one side just for the fun of it and on the other side to learn a good deal from it. so i came accross the "helprequested" where the CHC/CHC++ section caught my eye because i spent some time trying to implement the CHC++ in my own experimental renderer.
i wrote an email to sinbad and he confirmed that there is still interest in a generic implementation of CHC++ and that some people here in the forum have experience with it and some research is already going on.
so i just want to request feedback on how i can contribute on this topic because as i mentioned i am new to ogre (although not to graphics programming and software engineering :wink: ) but i think this is a good point to start from, learn quite much from it and contribute to the community.

a must have in my opinion is to have a geometrically highly complex scene with much occluders and occludees in it which can act as a standard scene for other occlusion culling algorithms and allowes to compare them directly (e.g. fps, rendererd objects/triangles) and then kick-off the implementation. during experimenting with my own renderer i came accross http://gamma.cs.unc.edu/POWERPLANT/ (for which i wrote an importer into my engine) maybe this model could be used to test the CHC++. unfortunately its in ply-format and as far as i know ogre doesn't support loading of ply-formats?

thanks for any advice
0 x
Mu

Praetor
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member

Re: CHC++

Post by Praetor » Wed Nov 18, 2009 5:13 pm