Ogre 1.9RC2 + VS2013 Express, ZM option not working

Discussion area about developing or extending OGRE, adding plugins for it or building applications on it. No newbie questions please, use the Help forum for that.
Post Reply
User avatar
lingfors
Hobgoblin
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Sweden

Ogre 1.9RC2 + VS2013 Express, ZM option not working

Post by lingfors » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:41 pm

The ZM option in CMake (that allows VS to use more memory for PCH using the /Zm256 flag) doesn't seem to work. I've tried generating project using CMake both with the option checked and unchecked, without getting the /ZM256 flag to show up in my OgreMain compile command line.

Also, the description of the option in CMake is confusing... "Switch off flag" or something like that. So, if I check it, I should not use the /Zm256 flag, or? Enable an option to turn something off? IMHO, it would be better to have an option to turn the flag on, that is checked by default.
0 x

User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4291
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
x 2
Contact:

Re: Ogre 1.9RC2 + VS2013 Express, ZM option not working

Post by spacegaier » Sun Oct 20, 2013 9:52 pm

I will fix that in a second. The issue is, that our CMake scripts do not allow to set Zm with VS2013 yet (only VS2012). The script detects an invalid VS version for /Zm and then displays that slightly confusing tooltip you mention.
0 x
Ogre Admin [Admin, Dev, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your spare time? Help the Ogre wiki grow! Or squash a bug...

User avatar
spacegaier
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 4291
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Location: Germany
x 2
Contact:

Re: Ogre 1.9RC2 + VS2013 Express, ZM option not working

Post by spacegaier » Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:06 pm

I just pushed a fix. Can you please try again with the latest revision: https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre/commi ... 16da054e4c
0 x
Ogre Admin [Admin, Dev, PR, Finance, Wiki, etc.] | BasicOgreFramework | AdvancedOgreFramework
Don't know what to do in your spare time? Help the Ogre wiki grow! Or squash a bug...

User avatar
lingfors
Hobgoblin
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Ogre 1.9RC2 + VS2013 Express, ZM option not working

Post by lingfors » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:48 am

spacegaier wrote:I just pushed a fix. Can you please try again with the latest revision: https://bitbucket.org/sinbad/ogre/commi ... 16da054e4c
I will try again tonight when I get home from work.
0 x

User avatar
lingfors
Hobgoblin
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:18 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Ogre 1.9RC2 + VS2013 Express, ZM option not working

Post by lingfors » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:14 pm

Yup, seems to be working better. :)
0 x

Post Reply