scene_blend alpha_blend bug after updating to Ogre 14

Discussion area about developing or extending OGRE, adding plugins for it or building applications on it. No newbie questions please, use the Help forum for that.
Post Reply
User avatar
altren
Gnome
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Moscow, Russa
x 26
Contact:

scene_blend alpha_blend bug after updating to Ogre 14

Post by altren »

I'm having fairly simple material with alpha_blend, and after updating from 13.6.5 to 14.0.0 (14.2.6 also have this issue) my rendering became different, it seems that more transparent geometry is rendered now.
Here's old and new rendering:
Image
Image
This fog of war is rendered with created geometry and two geometry layers with non-transparent and partially transparent textures (single geometry and single dds texture is used) and whenever those overlap aplha blending becomes off.

I'm using non-modified RTShaderLib from Ogre/Media, RTShaderSystem/OgreShaderGenerator, GL3Plus render system on MacOS.
Material:

Code: Select all

material FogBase
{
	technique
	{
		pass
		{
			lighting off
			depth_check off
			depth_write off
			scene_blend alpha_blend

			texture_unit Tex
			{
				tex_address_mode clamp
				texture AllFogs.dds 2d 1
				tex_coord_set 0
			}
		}
	}
}

Note: Terrain lost its shadows, and those are also rendered with scene_blend alpha_blend

Any ideas how to debug it further?

Image
paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 2053
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 1106
Contact:

Re: scene_blend alpha_blend bug after updating to Ogre 14

Post by paroj »

are you also using specific render queues? If so it might be this:
https://github.com/OGRECave/ogre/blob/m ... nder-queue

otherwise try inspecting the rendering with renderdoc, if you are using a compatible rendersystem.

User avatar
altren
Gnome
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Moscow, Russa
x 26
Contact:

Re: scene_blend alpha_blend bug after updating to Ogre 14

Post by altren »

That was render queues, thank you. I moved the order a bit and everything is back to normal.

Image
paroj
OGRE Team Member
OGRE Team Member
Posts: 2053
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 2:51 pm
x 1106
Contact:

Re: scene_blend alpha_blend bug after updating to Ogre 14

Post by paroj »

altren wrote: Mon Sep 02, 2024 8:26 pm

That was render queues, thank you. I moved the order a bit and everything is back to normal.

out of curiosity? Do you deploy your game to the web? And is it available somewhere?

User avatar
altren
Gnome
Posts: 334
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:02 am
Location: Moscow, Russa
x 26
Contact:

Re: scene_blend alpha_blend bug after updating to Ogre 14

Post by altren »

You can try it there. http://tfw-webclient.s3.amazonaws.com/c ... Wilds.html
Registration is broken, but you can play as guest

Image
Post Reply