Centaur Force TCS

A place for users of OGRE to discuss ideas and experiences of utilitising OGRE in their games / demos / applications.
User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Centaur Force TCS

Post by Robomaniac »

Well, after a lot of deliberation, I have decided to move my game, Centaur Force TCS, from the Irrlicht Engine to Ogre. Information about the game is available at www.geocities.com/centaurforce , and the release date will most likely be pushed back a week or so do to the engine switch. Anyway, now that thats done, please visit the site, and e-mail, aim, or pm me if you have any questions. Also, if anyone has some free time, and would like to do some skinning, it would be apreciated. Thanks.

-- The Robomaniac
phear hingo

My Webpage

Mawen
Halfling
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 7:34 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada
Contact:

Post by Mawen »

I'm sure others are wondering:

What went into your decision to switch?

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

Well, this was basically my thoughts, and my answers to them

Ease of Use : Irrlicht --> Really Easy
Ogre --> A little harder, but nothing too hard

Portability : Irrlicht --> Windows, Linux
Ogre --> Windows, Linux, Mac

Features : Irrlicht --> Less than Ogre, nothing too special, nor that great looking
Ogre --> More Features, Better Looking, Shaders

Community : Irrlicht --> fairly large community, althought there are like 10 good developers, most are just quesitons like how do i make a game

Ogre --> huge community, great support (at least from what i've seen

Tutorials and Demos : Irrlicht --> 10 or so different Tutorials which are also demos, all run easily

Ogre --> 2 Tutorials, which i got running after a little bit of trouble, 15 or so demos which work flawlessly, and look great

All in all, Irrlicht was really good as a beginning engine as it is super easy to use, but it can only go so far as of now. Irrlicht will be a great engine i'm sure as soon as it ups the quality of most of its featues, but for now, Ogre is an all around better engine, once you've worked w/ an easier engine to use. (2d or Irrlicht). I'll definately keep looking @ Irrlicht as it grows, but for now, i'm sticking w/ Ogre.

[edit] here is a render of the same map from the same angle in both enigines

Irrlicht --> http://www.geocities.com/centaurforce/shotgun.JPG
Ogre --> http://www.geocities.com/centaurforce/screenshot_1.jpg
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
sinbad
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 19265
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2002 11:19 pm
Location: Guernsey, Channel Islands
x 66
Contact:

Post by sinbad »

I couldn't view those shots (perhaps a Geocities thing, I tried copying and pasting them into a new window too), but obviously I'm inclined to believe you that Ogre looked better ;)

On higher end cards, you can increase the visual quality even more by turning on trilinear or anisotropic filtering. The 0.13 demos allow you to do this by pressing 'T' to cycle through the various filtering options, and aniso filtering can be really noticeable on areas with large planar surfaces, like BSP levels.

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

Well, i reuploaded the shots, and they're on the shots page on the site.
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

Well, I'm now in the process of not doing anything graphical, and maybe reconsidering moving Centaur Force back to ogre, but not for at least a month. And, here's a website i whipped up yesterday, no more shitty geocities for me :-)

http://centaurforce.sourceforge.net/b2e ... _force.php

Enjoy!
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

I have decided to eventually use ogre for the rendering engine, and will most likely also port some of Irrlicht's GUI (if i'm capable) into the engine model. Or, has CrazyEddie finished (or released) any of his GUI? Anyway, the website above is no longer valid. Here is the new one :

Centaurforce.sf.net --> simple, easy, and semi fast

Forums are centaurforce.sf.net/phpBB2 (very active of course ;-) )

Screens are also at the images button (top right), as is the forum (top middle). I also have a image (featuring the basic scripting) at www.geocities.com/centaurforce/screen4.gif (c+p, as i cannot access my sf ftp from school, will do sometime though (most likely 2 weekends from now)

Thanks for your time.
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Big Update

Post by Robomaniac »

Well, I've been sticking with ogre and here's my progress so far.

Webpage : http://centaurforce.sf.net
Forums : http://centaurforce.sf.net/web/phpBB2/

First Screen of the new OGSF and Actor System :
http://centaurforce.sourceforge.net/web ... nShot1.gif

The mean ol' ogre is created via the actor code only, no direct ogre calls were needed (outside of the class) to set it up :)

Check the forums often for updates and weekly (maybe bi-daily) .plans :)
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

I don't wanna bog up these boards, so i've been making updates (lots of screens, .plan's, bugs, announcements, etc. on my forum. I suggest you check this often if your interested, b/c i am updating it almost daily (maybe more than once). Anyway, just wanted to let ppl know. I released my code as of yesterday on sf, so i'll post a link on the forums if you wanna mess with it. There is a win32 binary included b/c i forgot to break this one up into different sections :)
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Updates

Post by Robomaniac »

Lots of shit happening round here:

http://centaurforce.sf.net/web/Images/S ... Shot10.gif is my latest screenshot, it shows just some basic terrain + fog (need a gloomier sky) and i'm starting to plan out my basic test level. Look on the forums (http://centaurforce.sf.net/web/phpBB2/) for constant daily/bidaily screens/.plans/announcements. Look for a preliminary source release by tonight.
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Updates, Updates, and More Updates

Post by Robomaniac »

If you don't check my forums regularly already, i suggest that you do if you want to check up on progress. Well anyway, latest screen (new map for the new concept) features hacked in weapons, nature scene mgr (higher framerates), cubic water (need a better base textue), and a cool shiny brand spaning new skybox :)

Enjoy! Will post a .plan tonight or tomorrow idk which

http://centaurforce.sourceforge.net/web ... Shot13.gif

as always,
http://centaurforce.sf.net/web/phpBB2/ -> updated daily, if not more ;)

The Robomaniac, CF 1337 |-|4><0R
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
jacmoe
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 20570
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:13 am
Location: Denmark
x 179
Contact:

Post by jacmoe »

You are getting there, Robo! :)
/* Less noise. More signal. */
Ogitor Scenebuilder - powered by Ogre, presented by Qt, fueled by Passion.
OgreAddons - the Ogre code suppository.

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

NEW WEBPAGE!

www.centaurforce.com !!!!!

I got a team too!!!!!!

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

Awesomely Awesome Gamecore v. 2 is running :)

View Screens at http://www.centaurforce.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=84 !
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

wow

been ages since i've been able to work on cf, school has taken all my time.

(well, not all, doom3, social life, and girls have taken some too ;))

I'm trying my hardest to get back running tonight or tomorrow thouhg
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

Some Weapons -- http://www.centaurforce.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=166

Its Not Dead :) -- http://www.centaurforce.com/bbs/viewtopic.php?t=163

CF Has actually made some progress today, i got some basic networking running, sending events is in, now I just need to make a server and I should be able to handle joins and quits over the network. After that, its onto further developing my gamecore and then adding ogre graphics once i get far enough.

:)
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

0.1 has been reached.

Its mainly a code release, but you can download a small demo at

http://centaurforce.sf.net/releases/CF_01_Binaries.rar

You have to delete bin_release\device_settings.cfg before you run the app

Hope you enjoy it :)

WASD and mouse move ala fps
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
bal
Greenskin
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Geluwe, Belgium

Post by bal »

Auch, crashed when I hit escape. This is the log:

Code: Select all

19:38:27: *-*-* OGRE Shutdown
19:38:27: *-*-* OGRE Shutdown
19:38:27: FileSystem Archive Codec for ..\Data\ unloaded.
19:38:27: FileSystem Archive Codec for ..\Data\Materials\ unloaded.
19:38:27: FileSystem Archive Codec for ..\Data\Models\ unloaded.
19:38:27: FileSystem Archive Codec for ..\Data\Shaders\ unloaded.
19:38:27: FileSystem Archive Codec for ..\Data\Textures\ unloaded.
19:38:27: Zip Archive Codec for ..\Data\Textures\Skies.zip unloaded.
19:38:27: FileSystem Archive Codec for .\ unloaded.
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\Plugin_OctreeSceneManager
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\Plugin_CgProgramManager
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\Plugin_ParticleFX
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\Plugin_FileSystem
19:38:27: *** Stopping Win32GL Subsystem ***
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\RenderSystem_GL
19:38:27: Render Target 'Centaur Force - 0.1' Average FPS: 265.579193 Best FPS: 287.138580 Worst FPS: 0.000000
19:38:27: D3D9 : Shutting down cleanly.
19:38:27: D3D9 : Direct3D9 Rendering SubSystem destroyed.
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\RenderSystem_Direct3D9
19:38:27: *-*-* Direct3D Subsystem shutting down cleanly.
19:38:27: Direct3D7 Rendering Subsystem destroyed.
19:38:27: Unloading library .\ogre_plugins\RenderSystem_Direct3D7
19:38:27: Unloading library OgrePlatform.dll

User avatar
Banania
Gremlin
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:35 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Banania »

I don't think this is a crash. I think this is normal behaviour.
Banania

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

This is what the end should look like, but I have had reports of it crashing upon exit on some people's computers, but on the two computers i've tried it on, it hasn't shown up. I'm going to try to test it on some more comps, but I haven't seen it.

Seems like i should reimplement my minidumper ;)
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
bal
Greenskin
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 7:29 pm
Location: Geluwe, Belgium

Post by bal »

Hmm, after some testing I noticed that it doesn't crash, the renderwindow just freezes. When I select the console and hit "the any key" there it shut down as it should :).

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

oh... bastards :P

Yeah, i forgot to take that out for release mode, i have it in during debug mode for well... debugging ;P

*adds it to his todo list*
phear hingo

My Webpage

chooikw
Kobold
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:58 pm
Contact:

Post by chooikw »

The Shaders folder is missing....
Game programming is fun!

User avatar
Robomaniac
Hobgoblin
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 6:39 am

Post by Robomaniac »

I think i removed some of the folders from the data directory by accident *doh*

you can either just add them or remove them from the filesystem.cfg file

Theres nothing in them thats needed

*damn, i need to make a better release next time*

:oops:
phear hingo

My Webpage

User avatar
leedgitar
OGRE Community Helper
OGRE Community Helper
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2003 1:58 am
Location: Baltimore, MD
Contact:

Post by leedgitar »

The Shaders folder was there for me.

Post Reply