Ogre performance and 2D newbie questions.

A place for users of OGRE to discuss ideas and experiences of utilitising OGRE in their games / demos / applications.
bradnerdhss
Gnoblar

Ogre performance and 2D newbie questions.

Post by bradnerdhss »

Hi there,

I'm new to 3D gfx programming and Ogre. I've got a question about 2D games and performance. I know Ogre is 3D, but can one 'emulate' a 2D game, like the player controlling a sprite in a horizontal scroller?

I've had a play with Allegro, and found too sluggish when there are more than 5 sprites on the screen simultaneously. (On a p4 3ghz, 4MB, Windows XP, GeForce FX 5700). I was thinking if one creates a 2D game using Ogre, then all optimised performance of the 3D hardware will be fast enough for the multiple sprites.

I also noticed that there arn't any scenes geared towards sprite collision.

Again, I'm a cliched newbie and keen to research all this with a little guidence from you experts and other alike. I considered programming in Dx10 raw, but came across Ogre and can see the significant benifits it can provide - although I'm concerned with performance.

Also, does Ogre and/or 3D have the concept of 'paging'?

Thanks.
fzh
Gnoblar

Post by fzh »

I was using allegro for 2d games as well a while ago, it's not really sluggish, you just need some multithreading and double buffering. Though the reason i gave up on it is because 2d sprite drawing is too tedious for me compared to 3d modeling.

I was planning on using native dx as well, but there are many beneficial features to ogre like all those cullings and optimization features especially which you don't have to reinvent the wheel on, the cross platform compatibility with openGL rendering is another plus. There really isn't much of a performance issue using ogre compared to native directx, you will find that you will probably be doing the same thing, albeit less optimized and mature compared to ogre if you were to code an engine from scratch with directx.