new model format

A place for users of OGRE to discuss ideas and experiences of utilitising OGRE in their games / demos / applications.
Post Reply
User avatar
Kristian
Hobgoblin
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 7:35 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

new model format

Post by Kristian » Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:33 pm

Hello people,
Can anyone give me any pointers on which way new mesh model format support p pwould be proberly impleated ? Should i do i the "CEGui OgreDriver" way? Or some other way ?

Regards
Kristian
0 x

User avatar
haffax
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator
Posts: 4823
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 1:40 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by haffax » Tue Jan 25, 2005 12:54 am

Sorry, but I don't really understand your question. What do you want to achieve? Do you want to create a new internal format for meshes? Or a converter to Ogre's mesh format or do you want to write a modelling tool? I don't quite understand the reference to Cegui.
0 x
team-pantheon programmer
creators of Rastullahs Lockenpracht

User avatar
Banania
Gremlin
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 2:35 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Banania » Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:11 am

I think he wants a way to load other mesh formats than .mesh in Ogre. However, I don't really understand the CEgui reference either.
0 x
Banania

User avatar
:wumpus:
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 3067
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 12:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by :wumpus: » Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:35 am

You should make a converter to .mesh or .xml (and then run the xml to mesh converter); as the .mesh format matches the internal data structures of Ogre exactly, it's much faster to load and can contain specialized structures like edge list (for shadows) and tangent vectors (for normal mapping) so they don't have to be built at runtime.
0 x

User avatar
Kristian
Hobgoblin
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 7:35 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Post by Kristian » Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:39 pm

Im interested in displaying meshes which has a diffirent format and structure than the mesh format ogre uses to load. Im not speaking of converting anything here.
-
CE gui does its rendering by utilising the renderqueue listerner provided by Ogre. Should I do the same thing with the model i want to display or should i impleat the loading inside the ogre libery ?
0 x
Kristian, crying out loud: "If it works. Don't fix it!" :p
HCA
HCA2
GuppyLife

User avatar
:wumpus:
OGRE Retired Team Member
OGRE Retired Team Member
Posts: 3067
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 12:53 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by :wumpus: » Tue Jan 25, 2005 6:23 pm

You can build your mesh in-memory using HardwarePixelBuffer and HardwareVertexBuffer, then display that.
thttp://ogrewiki.digitalsentience.com/index.php/GeneratingAMesh
0 x

User avatar
liberator
Greenskin
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 2:27 pm
Location: Sillicon Valley, California
Contact:

Post by liberator » Tue Jan 25, 2005 11:20 pm

:wumpus: wrote:You can build your mesh in-memory using HardwarePixelBuffer and HardwareVertexBuffer, then display that.
thttp://ogrewiki.digitalsentience.com/index.php/GeneratingAMesh
Link correction:
http://ogrewiki.digitalsentience.com/in ... atingAMesh

Firefox was bitching when I clicked it :)
0 x

Post Reply