Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Sure feel free to contribute!
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 48
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Crashy »

Great, I'm almost done, although I've spent most of the time making it compile :)
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image

Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 48
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Crashy »

Allright, I've done the stuff I wanted to do, but before doing a pull request I wanted to check a few things
Link to my fork:
https://github.com/LMCrashy/EasyOgreExp ... its/master

1-There already was a exportMaterial boolean that was always true, I've just plugged it to a checkbox
2-I've implemented the #noprompt feature so we can export using maxscript using this command

Code: Select all

exportFile "test.mesh" #noPrompt selectedOnly:true
3-To export mesh only, I've added a second exporter, derived from the scene exporter, that behaves like this:
  • If there is only one object selected, the exported mesh is named after the output filename.
  • If there are multiple objects selected(or no selection), exporter behaves like the .scene exporter, but doesn't write any .scene file.

There are two things that did Ogremax and that are not done for the moment:
  • .mesh export was enabled only through the "export selected" menu, not from the "export". I don't know how to make such a restriction
  • When exporting to .mesh with multiple object selected, Ogremax was merging them in a single .mesh file, which was convenient in some cases. This is possible to do but obviously requires more work.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Check https://github.com/TaaTT4/EasyOgreExpor ... -vaevictis
it seems someone else already make some similar changes I didn't notice before ^^

Also update your master, your version is missing some late changes.
I'll merge all your changes once it seem correct to you, maybe also some corrections from https://github.com/TaaTT4/EasyOgreExporter
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

Hotshot5000
OGRE Contributor
OGRE Contributor
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:30 pm
x 41

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Hotshot5000 »

I have some meshes in FBX format that are exported to Ogre Mesh version 1.10 by using Easy Ogre Exporter. After that I convert the mesh from 1.10 to 2.1 using

Code: Select all

OgreMeshTool_d.exe -e -t -ts 4 -O puqs -v2 ship0.mesh ship0v21.mesh
The curious thing about this is that in game, no matter how big or small do I scale the mesh I always get it at the same size. Basically very small, covering only a few pixels on screen.

Any idea what might cause this weird behavior?

EDIT: I use the defaults when exporting with Easy Ogre Exporter.

Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 997
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 48
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Crashy »

Did you use "reset xform" ?
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image

Franckb
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:26 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Franckb »

Hi
i am working on a maxScript script to export some .max to .mesh using EasyOgreExporter. i was wandering if there was a way to set the export option values directly in the script so that my users would only have to press a button and be done. I saw that some work had been done to make the #noPrompt argument work but i doesn't seem to have made it in the current release yet.
thanks

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Hello,

it seems someone made a fork for this.
I don't have time right now to rebuild it all for max 2020 but I'll try to do it soon and maybe add some features from other forks
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

EOE V3.2.2
- now support max 2020

http://wiki.ogre3d.org/Easy+Ogre+Exporter
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

zaki
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:19 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by zaki »

Hi!

I would like to request up-to-date build instructions for EOE.
The reason being that I tried to follow every build instruction I found (the one in the readme, and the one I found here from 2014) and I could not get it to build.
I'm using MSVSC 2019, the stable ogre SDK snapshot from https://www.ogre3d.org/download/sdk (OGRE 1.12.4 MSVC SDK), and 3DS MAX 2020.
If there is no other reliable solution, I can fall back to using an earlier version of visual studio, but I would like to keep my setup if possible.

If someone could clarify exactly what paths I need to use for what files and folders (dependencies and whatnot), that would already help a lot, but I'm a noob, so I would greatly appreciate step-by-step instructions.

Thank you in advance & I will update this post should I get close(r) to a solution.

arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Hello,

I use a old version of Ogre 2.0, you can try to update the code to the latest Ogre version.
I'll will not have time soon to do it
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com

file2mail
Gnoblar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:38 am

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by file2mail »

EasyOgreExporter.dle for 2020 is still v3.2.1, even in the EOE installer
Last edited by file2mail on Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply