New to Ogre - Specific Exporter Need

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
jedirock
Gnoblar

New to Ogre - Specific Exporter Need

Post by jedirock »

Hey, I'm fairly new to OGRE, but our University is using it for an application we're extending. The application itself has already been made in OGRE 1.2.5 and we're exporting new meshes from Maya 2009 to work with that version. Does anyone know how I can go about getting the export code to work with both Maya 2009 AND export out an Ogre 1.2.5 .mesh file?

I've been looking around for quite some time, and it appears that the maya exporter source code that came with 1.2.5 was Maya 6.0, and drastic changes have been made in the past 4 versions of Maya (understandably). I can get an exporter running on Maya 2009, but it exports out meshes for the latest ogre version, which causes ogre 1.2.5 to crash.

I can't thank you for your help enough, this has been a major headache on our side!
haffax
OGRE Retired Moderator
OGRE Retired Moderator

Re: New to Ogre - Specific Exporter Need

Post by haffax »

I believe there weren't any major changes to the XML mesh format in between the two versions. So one way to go about this is to export to new mesh format with latest Maya exporter, then use the Ogre 1.6 XmlConverter tool to convert binary mesh to XML, then use the Ogre 1.2 XmlConverter to convert the XML back to Ogre 1.2 binary format.
With a simple batch file this process can be automatized.
team-pantheon programmer
creators of Rastullahs Lockenpracht
Evak
Orc Shaman

Post by Evak »

we have a xml batcher EXE for 1.6 that you can create a shortcut to.

http://www.flow3d.org/tools/FlogreXMLBatcher.zip