[SOLVED] Export a breaking wave

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
roimatola
Halfling
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:57 pm

[SOLVED] Export a breaking wave

Post by roimatola » Sat Nov 26, 2011 7:27 pm

Image

Hi, i made a breaking wave animation, and i was wondering if any of you guys can give some hints at how to export this to OGRE.
The animation system was made in Maya 2012 and its basically some spline blend shapes deforming a lofted plane.

I tried exporting with ogreMax but it didn´t export the animation, only the deformed plane.

Thanks!
Last edited by roimatola on Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
0 x

User avatar
madmarx
OGRE Expert User
OGRE Expert User
Posts: 1668
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 10:26 pm

Re: Export a breaking wave

Post by madmarx » Sat Nov 26, 2011 8:51 pm

I know you tried ogremax, but i would try ogremax too with 'morph deformation' animation + be careful of the keyframe timing, or I would write my own plugin.
Are a programmer or a graphist?
You might ask derek nedelman. He might not answer, but still he is the author and maintainer of ogremax.
0 x
Tutorials + Ogre searchable API + more for Ogre1.7 : http://sourceforge.net/projects/so3dtools/
Corresponding thread : http://www.ogre3d.org/forums/viewtopic. ... 93&start=0

User avatar
metaldev
Orc Shaman
Posts: 761
Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 11:56 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: Export a breaking wave

Post by metaldev » Sun Nov 27, 2011 6:08 pm

The native Ogre exporter for Maya would export this just fine as well.
(but you have to convert it to polygons. No exporter is going to handle splines.)

no need to write your own plugin (unless you MUST keep this as a spline).
0 x

roimatola
Halfling
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:57 pm

Re: Export a breaking wave

Post by roimatola » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:46 am

You were right, i did managed to export it as morph. I just had to watch out for the tesselation, maya was tessellating the mesh as needed, and so, the first frame had really just a few triangles.

Thanks for the heads up.
0 x

Post Reply