Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

The place for artists, modellers, level designers et al to discuss their approaches for creating content for OGRE.
Post Reply
arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Sure feel free to contribute!
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Crashy »

Great, I'm almost done, although I've spent most of the time making it compile :)
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Crashy »

Allright, I've done the stuff I wanted to do, but before doing a pull request I wanted to check a few things
Link to my fork:
https://github.com/LMCrashy/EasyOgreExp ... its/master

1-There already was a exportMaterial boolean that was always true, I've just plugged it to a checkbox
2-I've implemented the #noprompt feature so we can export using maxscript using this command

Code: Select all

exportFile "test.mesh" #noPrompt selectedOnly:true
3-To export mesh only, I've added a second exporter, derived from the scene exporter, that behaves like this:
  • If there is only one object selected, the exported mesh is named after the output filename.
  • If there are multiple objects selected(or no selection), exporter behaves like the .scene exporter, but doesn't write any .scene file.

There are two things that did Ogremax and that are not done for the moment:
  • .mesh export was enabled only through the "export selected" menu, not from the "export". I don't know how to make such a restriction
  • When exporting to .mesh with multiple object selected, Ogremax was merging them in a single .mesh file, which was convenient in some cases. This is possible to do but obviously requires more work.
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Check https://github.com/TaaTT4/EasyOgreExpor ... -vaevictis
it seems someone else already make some similar changes I didn't notice before ^^

Also update your master, your version is missing some late changes.
I'll merge all your changes once it seem correct to you, maybe also some corrections from https://github.com/TaaTT4/EasyOgreExporter
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com
Hotshot5000
OGRE Contributor
OGRE Contributor
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 12:30 pm
x 56

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Hotshot5000 »

I have some meshes in FBX format that are exported to Ogre Mesh version 1.10 by using Easy Ogre Exporter. After that I convert the mesh from 1.10 to 2.1 using

Code: Select all

OgreMeshTool_d.exe -e -t -ts 4 -O puqs -v2 ship0.mesh ship0v21.mesh
The curious thing about this is that in game, no matter how big or small do I scale the mesh I always get it at the same size. Basically very small, covering only a few pixels on screen.

Any idea what might cause this weird behavior?

EDIT: I use the defaults when exporting with Easy Ogre Exporter.
Crashy
Google Summer of Code Student
Google Summer of Code Student
Posts: 1005
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 9:15 pm
Location: Lyon, France
x 49
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Crashy »

Did you use "reset xform" ?
Follow la Moustache on Twitter or on Facebook
Image
Franckb
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 8:26 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by Franckb »

Hi
i am working on a maxScript script to export some .max to .mesh using EasyOgreExporter. i was wandering if there was a way to set the export option values directly in the script so that my users would only have to press a button and be done. I saw that some work had been done to make the #noPrompt argument work but i doesn't seem to have made it in the current release yet.
thanks
arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Hello,

it seems someone made a fork for this.
I don't have time right now to rebuild it all for max 2020 but I'll try to do it soon and maybe add some features from other forks
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com
arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

EOE V3.2.2
- now support max 2020

http://wiki.ogre3d.org/Easy+Ogre+Exporter
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com
zaki
Gnoblar
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:19 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by zaki »

Hi!

I would like to request up-to-date build instructions for EOE.
The reason being that I tried to follow every build instruction I found (the one in the readme, and the one I found here from 2014) and I could not get it to build.
I'm using MSVSC 2019, the stable ogre SDK snapshot from https://www.ogre3d.org/download/sdk (OGRE 1.12.4 MSVC SDK), and 3DS MAX 2020.
If there is no other reliable solution, I can fall back to using an earlier version of visual studio, but I would like to keep my setup if possible.

If someone could clarify exactly what paths I need to use for what files and folders (dependencies and whatnot), that would already help a lot, but I'm a noob, so I would greatly appreciate step-by-step instructions.

Thank you in advance & I will update this post should I get close(r) to a solution.
arkeon
Goblin
Posts: 272
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:02 pm
x 38

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by arkeon »

Hello,

I use a old version of Ogre 2.0, you can try to update the code to the latest Ogre version.
I'll will not have time soon to do it
OpenSpace 3D Project manager
http://www.openspace3d.com
file2mail
Gnoblar
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2020 5:38 am
x 1

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by file2mail »

EasyOgreExporter.dle for 2020 is still v3.2.1, even in the EOE installer
Last edited by file2mail on Sat Feb 15, 2020 6:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
AGP
Gnoblar
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 8:15 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by AGP »

Are you working on a 3ds max 2021 version? Please say so. I really need it, and I've been waiting for ages.
hedphelym
Gremlin
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:58 am
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
x 23
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by hedphelym »

3dsmax 2020 plugins works in 3dsmax 2021 as well, no recompilation needed between those two version.
AGP
Gnoblar
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat May 05, 2018 8:15 pm

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by AGP »

Thank you. You should add 2021 to its description, then.
User avatar
EricB
Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:28 am
Location: Florida
x 212
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by EricB »

My art contractor attempted to use shaders generated by EOE. I no longer have CG in my 64-bit builds. The GLSLES shader doesn't render in my game nor in Ogre Meshy. (The CG shader works fine in the latter.) I attempted an automatic CG to GLSL converter via cgc.exe, but it failed with a few errors.

Since CG shaders have been dead for 12 years now, is there a chance we could get proper HLSL and GLSL output from EOE? Do you have a price? :) It's only a matter of time before Metal and Vulcan shaders become a requirement.

In the meantime, I guess I will throw CG into my 64-bit build and hope I can get it working.

Last edited by EricB on Thu Nov 02, 2023 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
sercero
Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 155

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by sercero »

Somone said that CG shaders are mostly HLSL, have you tried converting to that shader language?

User avatar
EricB
Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:28 am
Location: Florida
x 212
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by EricB »

sercero wrote: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:36 pm

Somone said that CG shaders are mostly HLSL, have you tried converting to that shader language?

I think it can be done, (I believe Unity does it), but how would you go about using HLSL in OpenGL on Linux/Mac with Ogre3D? SEO bubbles have made it hard for me to find an answer to that via search.

I've completely sucked for the last 15 years at shaders on Ogre to the point I don't even really use them unless they work out of the box from third-party code. :lol:

Also note, I'm still on the DirectX9/OpenGL2 renderers. My community has not paid for me to upgrade the engine. They want all these new features, but don't want to upgrade the plumbing. :)

Anyway, I will use cg for now (or fix the compiled cg output to work). But it would really be nice to have EOE export hlsl, glsl, glsles, SPIR-V, and Metal since that's the future. Sadly, I'm not the one who can contribute the code. But if someone wants to put a bounty out for it, I will gladly contribute coin.

Image
User avatar
sercero
Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Posts: 449
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
x 155

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by sercero »

The latest versions of OGRE have a unified shader language, but it is based on GLSL.

User avatar
EricB
Bronze Sponsor
Bronze Sponsor
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:28 am
Location: Florida
x 212
Contact:

Re: Easy Ogre Exporter for 3DSMAX

Post by EricB »

sercero wrote: Fri Nov 03, 2023 12:44 pm

The latest versions of OGRE have a unified shader language, but it is based on GLSL.

I went ahead and implemented Cg shaders, and everything is working fine. So long as it doesn't break on future OS, it'll work until my Mac users start throwing money at me for ARM and Metal ports. Then, I'll have to look for other solutions or pay someone to rewrite them.

Speaking of which, I came across this on Paroj's Ogre Evolution proposals: https://github.com/OGRECave/evolution/b ... acement.md

I don't need it yet, but if/when I do, maybe I can grease the wheels to move this to a higher priority.

Image
Post Reply